We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay again”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for the second time for 3 days in January. From entering the hotel we were made again very welcome, room was fantastic with amazing views, breakfast and evening meal was again fabulous. The housekeeping staff were amazing keeping the bedroom very clean. Cannot wait to go back again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: pay a supplement and upgrade your room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    474
    107
    39
    10
See reviews for
207
959
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are looking for a lovely old hotel with excellent food, very pleasant and helpful staff AND at a reasonable price, then look no further! Of course it could do with a bit of a refurb here and there but this just adds to the charm of the place.

We have stayed here before and wondered whether we would still be as happy with our choice. Well yes we were! The evening meal menu is very varied (and includes two vegetarian choices) and everything is freshly cooked for you. The buffet breakfast really sets you up for the day too! We can't wait to go back for a third visit!

Room Tip: For better views of the surrounding fells request a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is my ideal hotel. Plenty of room, large dining and lounge areas. Excellent service all round. It has large grounds and is set by the old railway station which is now disused and the start of some great walking - Latrigg or Skiddaw. Book seats at the theatre by the lake and they will do an early dinner to make sure you get there in time. Walk into town to the great shops and variety of pubs and cafe's. Enjoy the quietness of the hotel in the evening and enjoy watching the rabbits on the croquet lawn as you have breakfast. For the money, it's great value

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnRPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent venue for stay-over Christmas party package. The welcome was warm and friendly, the party and meal tops. Will do this again. Keswick is a beautiful location in the western lakes. The old Rail Station has been incorporated in to the hotel thoughtfully. There are beautiful walks in and around Keswick, one of witch starts right outside the hotel on the old railway line.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulus10103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for nine years, between two and four times each year. We love it there - a proper old, squeaky floorboard hotel with excellent staff and wonderful food. Over the years the hotel has had a much needed re-furb and what has been done is a huge improvement and extremely 'in keeping' with the building. It has a very comfortable lounge, wonderful for a glass of wine after dinner. The dining room is beautiful and was lovely on our last visit with five Christmas trees as well as five throughout reception and a couple in the bar and more in the lounge - very festive! We always ask for a garden room as they look out over a mini golf/croquet lawn which is surrounded by trees and gardens - a little oasis! The rooms are very warm in winter and very comfortable and clean. Another plus is we leave our car in the hotel car park and walk down to the town - only 5-8 mins walk. The staff in the dining room are always very pleasant. Managers Stephanie and Paul are always on hand and are helpful and friendly and always have a chat with their guests, both have been there as long as we have been visiting.
On the whole I can definitely recommend this lovely hotel for a two or three night break. Good base to explore the lakes or just a couple of days ambling round Keswick and you can be sure of a warm welcome back at the hotel.

Room Tip: Garden and executive rooms are always a bonus with good view over the quiet gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here 2nd wknd in January what a lovely hotel we had a room in the station house which was very nice
The hotel was very clean & the food was really good staff are very friendly
It is only a few minutes walk into town
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 132susan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the Keswick Country Hotel for Christmas 2012 and 3 nights of absolute pampering, The evening meals are gourmet standard,breakfasts are as huge as you want them to be; the staff are friendly, professional and so helpful that we couldn't fault it all. Some of the public areas are a little bit tired but the hotel overall is really nice. Lovely decor and the views from the back rooms of the hotel are spectacular. We had room 302 and can highly recommend it if you like a good view. Hotel is only 5 minutes walk to Keswick town centre and fell walkers can start from the hotel for Latrigg and lakeside walks - you really couldn't chose a better hotel in Keswick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor at the back of the hotel for fantastic views of the fells and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing