We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My second visit and very enjoyable. The staff are without exception quite brilliant. The food is of a high standard, very varied and so proves difficult to make a choice when one could easily choose 4 of the main courses! The hotel does need a cosmetic refreshment and some of the carpets are reaching their sell-by date but this does not detract from the overall experience. The hotel has real character unlike the more modern places which are very sterile. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesbroughton1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    474
    107
    39
    10
See reviews for
207
959
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

In such a lovely location. We often stay for a couple of days and always enjoy our visits. You couldn't ask for anything more of the self-service breakfast and the a la carte evening meal is good; we have always enjoyed whatever we have ordered.

Good service, given with a smile, and a wonderful ambience.

Will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyBoothroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Enjoyed our third visit to this excellent hotel set in extensive grounds close to Fitz Park and 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. Hotel staff are friendly, polite & efficient and rooms are clean & comfortable. Breakfasts are buffet style with plenty of choice in both the hot and cold buffets. The 3 course evening meals offer a varied menu and are well presented though I'd personally appreciate a few more green vegetables with the main course. The hotel is well placed for climbing Skiddaw and undertaking many other wonderful walks without having to move the car from the large car park. Only disappointment is that dogs are not allowed in the hotel so our own small dog slept in the car after long days out walking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsLaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

A very enjoyable stay in The Keswick Hotel - fantastic location just off the centre of Keswick but very easy walk to all the action.
Whilst the hotel is showing it's age in a few areas there is a programme of refurbishment and improvement and this does not spoil the overall stay at this hotel.
Staff are all very helpful and friendly. Food in restaurant was exceptional standard and value .
Ideally placed for Kewick centre, Derwentwater and local walks in the area - inc Cat Bells & Skiddaw.
Overall a very enjoyable RETURN visit to The Keswick Hotel and will definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel is great, the food is outstanding, restaurant quality. OK like others have said the rooms are a liile 'worn' but we had a VERY large, clean, twin aspect 'Station room' that was really very nice, which I understand was due for re-furb.It was though very comfy. Lets face it they cant re-furb all the rooms at once and it has to be done on a rota. The tariff is very reasonable, if you take into account the wonderful food, then the accommodation is really a bargain.
We had a couple of minor issues, that were sorted quickly and without question by a VERY efficient front of house ( Faye in particular ).
The staff are wonderful and we had a great break, dont bother paying more for a 4 or 5 star. This is one of the best 3 stars I have ever stayed in .
Well done 'Choice Hotels' - We loved it! and the great position, close to Keswick centre

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pridelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years and the standards have always been excellent. The food is outstanding, the staff are excellent, the rooms are large and very clean, plus it is not expensive so excellent value for money. The location is very good also, with just a 10 minute walk in to Keswick town and some good local walks, plus this is a great location to explore the Lakes by car.

Room Tip: Just talk direct to reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I love this hotel and have stayed on many occassions. The staff are great. The rooms are clean and have views of the fells or the gardens surrounding the hotel. I would absolutely reccomend dinner. The menu has lots of choice and the food is really first rate. The hotel itself is a really interesting building and used to part of the old railway station I believe. You can still see the old platform out the back of the hotel next to the C2C cycle route. The gardens are really pretty in a slightly wild sort of way. It's a five to ten minutes walk into Keswick which has lots of links to places in the Lake District. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnedixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
688 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing