We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% We couldn't fault it!”
Review of Edwardene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edwardene Hotel
Ranked #24 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“100% We couldn't fault it!”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

From the moment we arrived the owners Russell & Marie were so welcoming and spent the time ensuring we knew where to eat and what to do locally. The room had just been redecorated in extremely tasteful furnishings with solid ash furniture and a very comfortable bed. The en-suite was also new with an excellent shower. As others have said the breakfast was carefully presented and excellent as was the location just off the main street. We will be abck as soon as we can!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainman069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
113
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We really liked this place. Good location, they helped one of the group who could not get in one night find accommodation elsewhere. The also gave good recommendations for food in the town.

Bathrooms were clean and modern, views from the top back rooms were fantastic.

All in all a well run establishment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBoy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn, lancs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Went here for 3 nights and it was just round the corner from the centre, so the location was spot on and the hotel was really nice, clean and lovely people. Couln't have asked for any better and would stay in this hotel again for sure!! Unfortunately it was time for us to come home!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseymonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

The review can only be short because everything was escellent. Marie and Russell have got this absolutely right! We have been staying in Keswick for short breaks for the past 10 years and this was the best yet. Other places can be found at cheaper rates but this comes with that extra touch of luxury. The biggest broblem being which of the lovely rooms to choose to stay in.

  • Liked — the feeling of quality in every aspect
  • Disliked — the view from the bedroom window
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rubwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meols
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Just a word of caution to those making bookings at this hotel. I selected the hotel based on the great reviews on this website. I booked in advance and was expecting to visit on Wednesday. I called up today (Monday) to see if they had a cot for the room. I was told that they had emailed me earlier to say they were struggling to have a room available and they would have to put me in 2 rooms for my 3 night stay - this was the first I'd heard about this, they could have called me! I politely asked if I would be compensated for this in any way, eg a free bottle of wine or a discount, just out of courtesy. The owner said they would aim to make my stay as pleasant as possible, but would not compensate me. Anyway, I accepted this but was surprised given that the hotel allegedly has a high reputation. I was even more surprised a minute later when the owners husband called to say that they could not accommodate me. I was not rude and would never offend anyone and yet I was left in the lurch. I would recommend that people confirm beforehand that they have the same room. I felt offended by this treatment and have never complained in the past about any treatment i have had anywhere else I have stayed. This has really left me feeling let down and disappointed and has already started my holidays on a sour note.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
11 Thank barnhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton somerset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We stayed here for just over a week (our 2cnd year running)

Marie & Russell always go out of there way to ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible.They have invested heavily in refurbishment and quality abounds.For the Northern Lakes look no further,this is the place to stay.

Dudley & Val Edgar

  • Liked — home comforts
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Very good rooms and breakfast was very good. Friendly.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#47 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#18 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardene Hotel

Property: Edwardene Hotel
Address: 26 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edwardene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Edwardene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing