We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guesthouse”
Review of Edwardene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edwardene Hotel
Ranked #25 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a warm welcome when we arrived and were made to feel welcome the whole weekend. When we came back from a long day of walking our walking boots were taken off us and sent off to dry which was a lovely touch. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy. The bathroom was also clean and spacious. There was a lovely living room area with comfortable looking chairs and classic board games which we could have used if we wanted to. The breakfasts were impressive and the full English was delicious. We had a lovely stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte061287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardene, Owner at Edwardene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for writing such a great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for your lovely comments about our breakfasts, we have sourced some fantastic local producers whose ingredients have all contributed to us gaining our breakfast awards.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Marie & Russell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

After using trip advisor to pick the edwardene hotel we weren't disappointed! Initially we couldn't find a parking space but Russell (the owner) very kindly moved his own car for us and because the hotel is a stones throw away from the town centre we did nt need to use the car again. Russell and marie warmly welcomed us and showed us to our lovely country bedroom with ensuite bath and shower (wonderful bath and shower). Our room was very comfortable (great soft bed), warm and had everything we needed although a bit on the snug side this did not colour our stay at all.
Breakfast was delish and plentiful and the final lovely touch to our stay was a very thoughtful birthday card from Russell and marie as they knew it was a birthday treat for me. Thanks very much and we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmafrost2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardene, Owner at Edwardene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your birthday in York. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes,

Russell & Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and each time I visit I feel more at home. The hosts, Russell and Marie are always on hand to make sure that my stay is as comfortable and as rewarding as possible.

The rooms are always clean and are very neat and modern. My room this time had a double bed, a smart en-suite shower room, lovely oak furniture, soft cut pile carpets and a new, and very comfortable, multi-pocket sprung mattress! I slept really well, and woke up feeling well rested and refreshed.

At breakfast the food was excellent, as before, offering home cooked and hand prepared food. Cooked breakfasts are made with the finest ingredients, the locally sourced traditional sausages compliment the superbly lean back bacon. The grilled tomatoes are a delight, so soft and tasty, and the poached eggs remain a perfectly-rounded revelation...one day Russell will finally tell me how he does it! Marie prepares fresh fruit daily and the peeled and trimmed mix of grapefruits and orange is a favourite of mine. They also offer fruit compotes, cereals, juices, toasts (thick, fresh brown or white varieties), smoked salmon and porridge. It really is impossible to fault the food served here and they take great pride in the food that they serve

Apart from making sure the food and rooms are up to scratch Russell and Marie always seem happy to help with any advice that may be needed. They have a very good knowledge of the surrounding hills, countryside and villages and can offer advice on possible days out, things to do etc.... which is a great help when trying to get the most from your trip. For me, this trip represented a mix of business with some time to myself. Taking their advice I walked up one of the local hills, Walla Crag, which overlooks Derwentwater and it was a lovely walk with stunning views over the lake towards to surrounding mountains.

I have really enjoyed this stay and will certainly revisit when I need to come to the Lakes again. First class!

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in are simply lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhantomSnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Marie and Russell run the splendid Edwardene Hotel in Keswick.
Handily placed on Southey Street you can walk into town in less than a minute. The Family Room my wife and I shared with our 2 children was first class and the wonderful guest lounge meant that we could sit and relax without being 'confined' to a room or forced to walk the streets.
A memorable breakfast closed our stay and we vowed to return.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Been visiting for 5 years and standards get better. Friendly couple.
Rooms clean and lovely bedding.
Secure premises with access 24 hours a day.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owners.
Ease of access to Keswick centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustym30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had a very enjoyable two night stay with a group of friends.

The whole hotel has a quality feel.
The beds were very comfortable.
Rooms were nicely decorated with a modern clean bathroom.
Breakfast was very nice.

I would happily recommend this hotel to other people, and would stay again if I was visiting Keswick.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Normallywithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Recently stayed with four friends over a weekend.

Great selection of rooms, single, twin, double and family rooms.
Great value.
Great location very close to Keswick town centre.
Very friendly, helpful staff - gave advice on local walks, local pubs and local restaurants.
Very good breakfast.
Excellent cleanliness.

Nothing negative about our stay whatsoever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterKurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#17 of 196 in Keswick
375 reviews
0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#26 of 196 in Keswick
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#21 of 196 in Keswick
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#15 of 196 in Keswick
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#19 of 196 in Keswick
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardene Hotel

Address: 26 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $143 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edwardene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edwardene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing