We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky were we!”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #7 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile


We ended up staying at Linnett Hill last minute due to a mix up with a booking elsewhere.

I searched Trip Advisor for somewhere else to stay and found Linnett Hill, the reviews spoke for themselves. We were so lucky to manage to get the last room for the weekend.

The house is gorgeous and finished to a high standard. It was great to have the use of the very nice lounge too and the fridge in the hallway was very useful.

The location is fantastic just round the corner from the town centre. Keswick has something for everyone, amazing scenery and the options for walking are outstanding.

If you like Thai food, you must try the Taste of Thailand. Amazing food!

The rooms were lovely and the breakfasts yummy with plenty of choice.

Mandy and Andy were great hosts, so friendly and welcoming. Keep up the good work guys, we can't wait to come back!

Thanks for a great stay.

Claire and John

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 711 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed four nights and wished it had been longer, cannot praise Andy and Mandy enough. The food was very good with plenty of choice, rooms tastefully decorated, clean and comfy. There were many little extras and we are certain that their high standards will remain consistent and they will not start cutting corners as a lot of places tend to do. They work very hard and have done a lot of research into Keswick and the surrounding areas - i e places to eat and walk. Look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aud_DTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We decided on the last minute to have two days in Keswick to visit some friends, just a one overnight stay. We found Linnet Hill online and booked. What we found when we arrived was a most convenient location, about 2 mins from the town centre, a superb Car park, Keswick is always busy and finding somewhere to park difficult so this was a big bonus. The directions sent to us were first rate and on arrival we were met by Mandy who greeted us like old friends. The house itself was superb in everyway, spotlessly clean everywhere and The Breakfast just what the Doctor ordered !! We have been telling all our friends and intend to go again soon. Andy & Mandy were the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Not applicable as we only saw our own room but feel sure the other rooms would be to the same high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We can only reiterate what's been written already. A friendly welcome, fantastic service and a high standard of cleanliness. Mandy was full of advice about the area and Andy cooks a mean breakfast. Will stay here again. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayTBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The other reviews of Linnett Hill speak for themselves. Keswick is a lovely town and ideal for a visit to the Lake District. Mandy and Andy have a lovely house and have taken care of every detail to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Their house is lovely and so is the welcome you will receive there. Not only are the suites impeccably fitted out, you also have the benefit of a choice of rooms downstairs if you wish to take the opportunity.

Linnett Hill is just around the corner from the town centre and you will be spoiled for choice if you wish to have an evening meal or shop there. No need to take the car if you can manage a two minute walk!

As well as the Lake District having the best scenery in England, there are several imposing mountain passes with good roads through them, all within very easy reach. I recommend driving both ways through them or stopping frequently to take it all in as the views are often quite different.

This was my first visit late in the season, the first week of November, and the colours are lovely in the misty light that you get at this time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Contrajur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Just sitting having our last breakfast at Linnet Hill and felt compelled to write a review (my first review on trip advisor). It is a lovely, excellent place to stay. Great location, clean, good breakfasts and the hosts Andy and Mandy are exceptionally welcoming. They go the extra mile, even when we turned up with smelly muddy boots from our last outing, they offered their drying room. Fantastic stay and we will most certainly be returning!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 05busse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What can I say that's not already been said. It has to be the best of B & B's anywhere. The hosts Mandy & Andy are meticulous in every detail and treat you more like an old friend instead of a guest in their lovely property. The weather on the 2nd November was terrible with a heavy downpour and wind all day. We returned after a long hike like drowned rats, we left our clothing and boots on hangers in the reception area. In the morning they were all gone. Mandy had collected them later that night and put them all in a drying room. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoppoKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Escape
Riverside Escape
#23 of 189 in Keswick
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $53 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing