We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #7 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've just returned home from a fantastic two night stay at Linnett Hill. Andy and Mandy are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are light and airy and have been fitted out to a very high standard. Our bed was absolutely huge and so very comfortable and at last a place that automatically gives you two pillows, so a big thumbs up from us. The ensuite facilities are modern, clean and just what you'd expect given the high standard of the house overall. There is an extensive breakfast menu, including croissants, cereal, fruit, full cooked brekkie and lighter options too. We both went for a bacon butty and I have to say it's the best I've had in a long time. Wonderful, also, that Andy and Mandy remember everyones names so you get that personal greeting every morning. The house is situated just on the edge of town so it only takes minutes to get in among the shops, pubs and restaurants and only 5 mins down to the lake edge. All in all a great experience and we'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffybundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
397
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I recently had a four night stay at Linnett Hill. Having stayed at the b&b in previous years I was very impressed by the modernisation carried out by the new owners Andy and Mandy. The room decor was fresh and clean, with modern much improved ensuite facilities. Andy and Mandy were perfect hosts, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble . They are always available for advice on places to eat, things to do etc. There was also a great choice of breakfast menu. Linnett Hill is perfectly situated on the edge of the town centre, and has its own car park with enough spaces for all the guests, a rarity in Keswick. Congratulations to Andy and Mandy on the great job that they have done. I look forward to staying at Linnett Hill again ,on my next trip to Keswick.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Andy and Mandy at their wonderful Linnett Hill B& B for 3 nights in mid September. They couldn't have been more welcoming, even greeting us by name each morning at breakfast, which had a fantastic range on the menu, even for a gluten free Aussie!
Our room on the top floor was beautifully decorated and had views to the hills beyond, which were soon to be conquered. A big bonus was on site parking, as spots on the street were very few and far between. The B&B is only a couple of minutes walk to restaurants and pubs for a meal and lovely evening stroll. Certainly hope to be back one day. Congrats and thanks again Andy and Mandy for a lovely stay in your part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Andy and Mandy are old friends of our son and we decided it would be nice to stay with them on our way to Scotland. We only stayed for one night but will definitely return for a longer stay. There is little new we can add to the long list of excellent reviews. The rooms are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are delicious and Andy and Mandy are excellent hosts. We had a lovely trip to Scotland staying in a variety of B & B's - none of which surpassed the high standards of Linnett Hill. We would recommend Linnett Hill to anyone.

Paul and Valerie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Mandy and Andy were excellent hosts and the accommodation was bright, fresh and beautifully clean. Breakfast was perfect and the location is right on the edge of town. There was lots of local information available and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: if staying for more than 2 or 3 days check if there is a room available with a good sized shower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Linnett Hill and it is by far the best B&B we've ever stayed at. Andy & Mandy were great hosts and have done a fabulous job in creating such a clean, fresh and relaxed place to say. Their attention to detail was second to none. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kezabelle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights with Mandy and Andy at Linnett Hill and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. What a little find this B&B is. Mandy and Andy have created a home away from home for their guests. Each day is kicked off with a fantastic breakfast and advice on how to spend your day. The rooms are immaculate and the decor has been wonderfully selected. After a long flight from Australia Linnett Hill was just what we needed. The location is fantastic with a short stroll into the main village or a walk along the river. Being able to park the car on site was a great bonus. I wish we could have stayed longer and can't wait to return one day. Congrats Many and Andy on creating a perfect lake district retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlywicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing