We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonegarth Guest House
Ranked #13 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in Feb 11, and will definitely be back. Why this B&B isn't nearer No.1 for Keswick I don't know! Great location within easy walking distance of the centre. And a car park - a real bonus in Keswick, and the owners also let us leave the car there after check out on Sunday while we were walking - hugey appreciated. . The room was lovely (No 3) with acres of space, nicely decorated, with all the things you might need - boot tray, hairdryer, fridge in the cupboard, heated mattress cover and big TV. The bathroom was wonderful, again huge, with double jacuzzi tub and lovely shower (which we didn't use - jacuzzi far more tempting!). The breakfasts were cooked to order, very nice. It is also very quiet, we slept like logs. (I was a bit anxious when I spotted that our room was above the kitchen - in other B&B's this has meant being woken by banging pans at 6am - but not here! Di must tiptoe about down there!) Many thanks, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    25
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
454
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

When the Stonegarth Guest House is full we would rather postpone our visit to the Lake District, for us there is no better place to stay - comfy, peaceful and fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollingtonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Hubby and I stayed at Stonegarth for three nights in February and we made an excellent choice. I can only reinforce was has been said on here already. Stonegarth is on a very quiet street with its own parking. We stayed in room 1 which was on the front of the house. Very comfortable bed and lovely bedding, cosy room and neat bathroom with a jacuzzi bath.
The breakfasts were spot on and Stephen is a great host. Very friendly without being in your face. And one last thing from a girly point of view - finally a place to stay that provides a decent hairdryer! We would definately stay here again and not hesitate to recommend it to friends. Alison & Sean

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at the Stonegarth Guest House in Keswick. Yet again we cannot sing this place praises enough...wow...
The service:
The attention to detail in this place is second to none as soon as you arrive you are warmly greeted. Owners know what rooms you will be staying in without looking at any paper work to remind them.

Whilst I was away it was my birthday, my boyfriend had pre-contacted owners to send card and presents down...so that when I arrived in room it was all there waiting for me as a surprise. The owners went out of their way to set room up nicely for us and also presented me with a big box of Thornton’s chocolates which was ever so kind!

The rooms:
The rooms are decorated to a very high standard. This place is kept immaculate. We stayed in room 4 this time (room 3 on our 1st visit) which had everything and more than is expected. There is a mini-fridge stocked with orange, water, coke and milk which is refilled every day. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room (there is no special teas or coffees i.e. green tea. However, if you request these they will be provided asap! Our room had a large plasma TV with free view which is most definitely an added bonus. The beds have electronic mattress warmers and are extremely comfortable. The bathroom had a double Jacuzzi, shower and two sinks with heated flooring. The bathroom is finished off nicely with another TV (with freeview) to watch whilst relaxing in the Jacuzzi!!

The breakfast:
Cooked breakfasts are served between 8:15am – 9.15am which includes; full English, scrambled egg on toast or with mackerel, croissants etc. Basically if you want something in particular... asks and I’m sure they try their best to accommodate with your needs. There is also fruit juice, tea/ coffee, toast, jams and a range of yogurts and cereals. Alternative breakfasts (uncooked) are between 8:15am and 9.45am. All the food and drink we had in this place was gorgeous!

The location:
It is about a 5minuet walk to Keswick centre which has a good variety of shops, restaurants and pubs. Food and drink is a little pricier than what you’ll find in most cities but it is wants expected here.

NB this guest house does have its own parking facilities which are a plus because in the summer the streets can get full fast.

Finally would just like to thank the owners for making our stay and my birthday extra special. We will definitely see you again in the future!

Thank you
Dawn and Jonathan

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xXxDawniexXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed here for a long (and v wet!) weekend. Centrally located, less than 5 minutes walk from town centre. Shown room - we'd chosen Room 3 with the four poster and twin jacuzzi bath. Clean and comfortable. Nice to watch tv in the bath! Breakfast was good local food. Made welcome from the start, no pressure from the owners. Would recommend this for a modern stylish B&B.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_J-Mr_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stonegarth House is a 5Star B&B in Keswick.We were in Room 3 which had the most comfortable Four Poster bed giving us the best sleep we have had for some time. A large flat screen TV in the bedroom. You then enter the Wow bathroom with another TV discretely placed on the wall. The interior design and fittings throughout were very tastefully done and to a high standard.
Stephen and Diane made us most welcome in their home and we are looking forward to our next visit
No hesitation in recommending this to a friend..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totoBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Wow! Where do you start. Sherry on arrival.Telly in main room AND bathroom! Double juccuzzi bath. Large Drench Shower with side jets. The most comfiest bed we have slept in for a long time and a very filling Lakeland Breakfast .Lots of very pleasant local walks in and around Keswick and lots of good local pubs and restaurants. Another plus is Stonegarth has its own carpark , so you dont have to drive around all the streets looking for somewhere to park.
Cheers Steve see you in 2011.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 175 in Keswick
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Property: Stonegarth Guest House
Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space for each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing