We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely & friendly place to stay everything you need on the door step”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonegarth Guest House
Ranked #10 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Lovely Guesthouse with the advantage off street parking, the rooms are done lovely, the rooms with the spa bath etc giving that nice piece of luxury.
Stephen was the perfect host with nothing been a bother to him, the guesthouse is idealy postioned with a short walk into Keswick centre.
Would certianly go back there.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Graemeb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 577 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

We were greeted by the owner who was very frienldy and helpfull. He showed us to our room and explained how all the facilities worked which was very helpful.

The room its self (room 3) was to a very high standard and had every thing that we needed including a spar bath and powerful shower with a TV in the bathroom to make the experience even better.

The four poster bed was very comfotable with clean crisp bedding. The refreshments within the room were replenished daily and there is also a Fridge so you can chill your own wine.

The breakfast was served from 8.15 - 9.15 so if you want a lie you would have to opt for the lighter breakfast option which is available until 10am. The breakfasts were very good and there was plenty of selection. the service was very promt and very obliging

Overall we would definatley recomend the Stonegarth to freinds, family and anyone wanting a pleasant stay in Keswick.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick0166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at The Stonegarth, Eskin St, Keswick for 4 nights in August 2010. We were greeted by the owner who showed us to our room where there were 2 glasses of sherry to start our holiday. A nice touch.
The rooms are gorgeous: clean, tidy and beautifully decorated. We stayed in room 3 which has a 4 poster bed and ensuite bathroom with a spa bath, shower with side jets and a tv in the bathroom, which was amazing, as we could watch tv while soaking in the spa bath with a nice glass of wine. Luxury!
The b&b has ample parking in the onsite car park which is great as the road itself is very busy! Keswick town centre and Derwent Water are both within easy walking distance so the location is excellent.
The lakeland breakfast comes highly recommended by the owner (a bit too highly as it seems you are made to feel guilty if you ask for the lighter option!). Breakfast is served 8am to 9.30am (with a full cooked option only available 8.30 to 9) which is a fairly small window we thought. We like to do a lot of walking when we visit this part of the world and like to get out and about early, we've stayed at other places where breakfast starts at 7am and goes on until 10am, this way you can choose a very early start or a lie in, this was obviously not an option here. Aside from this the lakeland breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My husband and i came to stay for 2 nights with family and friends as we were getting married at the ladore falls hotel. When we arrived we were welcomed at the door by the proprietor who was very friendly and welcoming. He showed us all to our rooms. When he showed us to our room me and my husband were over whelmed it was absolutly gorgeous and the bathroom was amazing, we have stayed in alot of guest houses in the lakes and this one beats them all.It was in a spot on location just a couple of minutes walk to the town centre. We will definately come and stay here again without a shadow of doubt and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stonegarth is a great find. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick but offering complete peace and quiet. The room was luxurious and the bed extremely comforatable. A warm welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We found Stonegarth very welcoming, with all we needed to know patiently explained. The owners filfilled all that was advertised. Our room was very clean & comfortable with an obvious attention to detail. The location was ideal for us & having a car park a real bonus. Breakfast was tasty & plentiful. Altogether a great B&B experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterthebarber1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We booked a B&B to stay in for 3 nights in Keswick and chose the best room available. We've stayed in Keswick a lot but never found the Stonegarth before - we'll definitely be back! We travelled by train and called ahead to check the owners would be in - our room was already ready which meant we could leave our bags and get on with enjoying our trip. The room was beautiful and hotel quality - a generous 4 poster and well decorated. IN the bathroom there was a double jacuzzi bath and even a TV! A lovely touch was the fact that there was a small fridge in the wardrobe
which meant there was fresh milk for the tea - much better than UHT which you get in most places. It's these small touches which make a real difference. There was also a small glass of sherry each, and glasses and a corkscrew should you choose to bring your own wine in.

Breakfast was also lovely with locally sourced bacon, eggs and sausages, and there was also a choice to have scrambled eggs with mackerel.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Escape
Riverside Escape
#18 of 196 in Keswick
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 196 in Keswick
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 196 in Keswick
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $110 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space for each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing