We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best guest house weve stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonegarth Guest House
Ranked #20 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“best guest house weve stayed in”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

After a very busy start to the year tanya and i stayed here for a well earned 5 day break and i have to say it was just perfect .Super hosts and superb accomodation oh and a breakfast to set you up for the day . We are looking forward to a return later in the year .
Rooms were spacious and very well equiped .Keswick town centre only a few minutes away so not far to stagger back after a good walk in the mountains and a couple of local ales . Have recomended to freinds and family and will definately go again . Kind regards Tanya and Steve

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    25
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
438
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at Stonegarth and as before it was exceptional, the warmest of welcomes, the rooms are spotless and the breakfast is perfect what more can I say other than I will be booking next year’s stay shortly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fellWalker747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbroiugh
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stonegarth is an ideal B & B in a very good location being very close to the town centre and with its own private car park. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with all you need for a carefree stay. The breakfast is very hearty, tasty and well cooked and the owners are extremely welcoming. I have stayed before and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We highly recommend this guest house - it is perfectly situated within Keswick, with only a couple of min walk into the town centre and 10 mins to the Lakeside of Derwent Water.
The standard of the accommodation was exceptional, such a welcoming building with beautiful furnishings and warming features. The room we stayed in was lovely and the little personal touches made it really special (the l'occtaine sugar cubes for the bath were fab! and I liked the fresh milk in the fridge). I was also very touched when they left a lovely box of chocolates on my pillow on my birthday after they had seen my birthday cards - thankyou!
One more thing to mention was the Lakeland Breakfast - WOW - that was superb. Locally sourced produce and free range egg, it was cooked and presented perfectly. All in all we had a great weekend - a weekend was definately not enough and we would love to come back and discover more of Keswick. Its a beautiful town - and this was a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2010

An excellent B&B which ideally plced in Keswick. 5 minutes walk into Keswick. Excellent breakfasts, I can recommend the home made vegetarian sausages. The owners are friendly and there is a small selection of complimentary drinks in your room. All rooms have flat screen TV and luxury toiletries. Ample free parking at guesthouse which is ideal in Keswick. We go to the lake district at least 3 times a year and always choose to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viki79034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We have just returned from a short break in Keswick where we stayed at Stonegarth. From the minute you arrive to the time you leave you are made to feel extremely welcome by Stephen and Di. The standard of Stonegarth is way above the price you pay for rooms. The way I would describe it is staying in excellent standard hotel rooms, but in a Guesthouse. Breakfast is fantastic and great value, and the little added extras like glasses of sherry upon arrival, fresh milk for brews and even a box of chocolates on your birthday are guaranteed to make your stay a happy one. Stephen and Di are both extremely pleasant and helpful no matter how busy they are, and we would strongly recommend this Guest House above all others.(and we've stayed in a few!)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkdiggler5104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Just got back from 2 days at The Stonegarth to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

We booked this guest house based on reviews here and the fact that they have car parking. It was a brilliant choice

We were greeted by Di on arrival and what struck me first was the cleanliness of the place. Our room (Room 2) was very good, the bathroom had a few cracks in the ceiling but Steve assuresd us that the room is being refurbished very soon. Regardless, it was spotless.

We had a 32' plasma TV in the room with basic Freeview, the usual tea & coffee making facilities plus a small fridge with complimentary soft drinks and a flask of milk filled daily. The bed was soft and very warm, but the main thing is that the guest house is very quiet. It is not near a main road so a quiet night's sleep is assured.

Breakfast was lovely and Steve & Di were great hosts, in fact it turned out that Steve is from my own home town.

I can unreservedly recommend The Stonegarth. We have just tried it for the first time and it will not be our last. If visiting Keswick stay anywhere else at your peril.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetleyteaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 177 in Keswick
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 177 in Keswick
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Property: Stonegarth Guest House
Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space for each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing