We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonegarth Guest House
Ranked #12 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was a birthday treat for my husband. I had inadvertently booked through a booking agency and had paid 20% more than I should have. I was told of my mistake upon arriving and given an upgrade to a lovely room. There were 2 glasses of sherry to welcome us, real milk in a flask in the frig for which I was very grateful. Jacuzzi bath which was huge and big walk in shower. Two sinks, this is the first time we have ever had these complete with a overhead mirror which was also a television. This room and the facilities including the heated bed and down duvets were exceptional. We found the rooms very clean, bright and cheerful. Breakfasts were excellent. The onsite car park was a bonus and the town centre was only a short distance walk. As it was March we were very appreciative of the lovely warm rooms. Our host was very welcoming and did everything to make our stay very special. We would certainly recommend this B&B as it had everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 560 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed in many B & B's in Keswick and this is one of the best. The owners are very welcoming and the rooms are clean and tidy.
The four poster bed with heated blankets were great to come back to after a cold March walk.
There is plenty of choice for breakfast and having your own parking place is a bonus in Keswick.

A. Edwards

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Both myself and my husband booked to stay here as a little second honeymoon for two nights. We paid quite a bit of money which the owner told me just as I was about to pay we could have saved money by booking directly. Lovely. Anyway the hotel was ok but not what was expected. Upon looking through the photographs we expected a lot more than what we got. Yes we did have a four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath but to be honest the room was not all that. The bathroom was tiny and a small corner bath fitted in the corner. My husband is quite tall and stuggled but me, of average height could fit in but felt closed in and could not relax. The breakfast was nice with plenty of options. To be honest, just make sure you upgrade if you are expecting anything like the photographs of the large bathrooms and double baths! Deceiving to say the least!

I think, for the money we would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyandJames1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonegarth, Owner at Stonegarth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We are sorry that this guest seems disappointed that we advised her how to save money on future holiday bookings.

She chose to book a two night stay through a Booking Agent, which as you would expect charges a fee for the service. This fee is around 20% of the price they are quoting depending on the actual agent used. In this case, the guest paid about £50 more than if she had booked through our own website or contacted us directly by phone or email.

The moral of the story is to use these booking agents by all means to help you find your ideal place, but then do a quick search on Google to find the website and contact the B & B direct. Large corporate hotels probably won’t be interested but small B & B’s like ourselves will normally help. This particular guest was wanting a premier room with a four poster bed and the large bathroom featuring a double Jacuzzi bath and separate shower cubicle. Regretfully, this is not what she actually booked through the agent. Had she visited our own website, she could have viewed each individual bedroom and bathroom and then made an informed choice.

We are no lovers of Booking Agents but the reality is that they seem to dominate the internet, so be savvy, use them wisely and to your own advantage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We've stayed in more B&Bs (and hotels) than I care to remember and Stonegarth takes some beating. It has a car park (a great plus in this part of Keswick), it's 5 mins walk from the town centre, it's a magnificent looking house on the outside and superb on the inside.
Clean, large bedroom (no. 5), welcoming sherries, stocked fridge, tea, coffee etc etc. Ensuite shower room glistened like new, big comfy heated bed - we couldn't fault anything. Even the hair-dryer had it's own little carry case in the wardrobe!
There is a warning, however! Don't eat too much dinner the night before because the cooked breakfast is probably the biggest and best you'll ever have. Served quickly and most pleasantly it was an absolute joy. Fresh fruit and cereals too. The Lakeland breakfast was
two big locally produced sausages, two rashers of bacon, a perfect egg and all the trimmings; tomatoes, mushroom and so on all served in a large bright dining room. "More toast, tea, coffee?" Phew, no ta, we're full as a gun. Brilliant.

Without hesitation we'd recommend anyone to stay here. It was quiet, relaxing and well worth the £72 and the booking procedure was very customer-friendly. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 was very quiet. Large and well-equipped. Two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in room 4 over valentines night and can only give very good reviews of this luxurious b&b. The double jacuzzi bath and waterfall power shower were fabulous and the four poster bed with heated blankets was so comfortable. Breakfast was of good choice and served promptly and with a smile. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and I am likely to return myself.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at Stonegarth for 2 nights over Valentines weekend, room 1 was exceptionally beautiful with super comfy bed (and heated mattress, amazing!). Great hosts, very friendly and did anything to make our stay perfect. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be back again! 5*s

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorginaRoseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great B&B, only our second experience in one but we have been very lucky. The room was large and tastefully decorated with a large 4 poster bed. Rainfall shower with endless hot water. Breakfast from local produce was very tasty and left us full for most of the day.

Great price for what we got and the position of the B&B. Only thing we would change would be the weather!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 6 and it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 189 in Keswick
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $127 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space for each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing