We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 *****” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonegarth Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stonegarth Guest House
Ranked #20 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 *****”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed again at Stonegarth as it is top class! Great breakfast, great room, great location and private parking which is a bonus in Keswick. Fresh milk every day, biscuits,tea and coffee plus sherry on arrival and a surprise box of Thorntons! Thank you Stephen and a special thanks to our housemaid who took great care of us..see you soon

Room Tip: Only a two min walk to town centre and free private parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    25
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
426
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and this a very comfortable guest house in a quiet location. A great bed, good furnishings and it's well-equipped (good toiletries, TV etc.). Excellent breakfast.

There was view of the summit of the Skiddaw from our room, free parking (this is a great advantage in the congested narrow streets!), and the guest house is within walking distance to the town centre shops and restaurants, but also good walks in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edog2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in April and couldn't fault it. Nice location 3 minutes walk into town. Lovely rooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay. We took our bikes with us and cycled the old railway to the Stone Circle - thoroughly enjoyed it. Ate in 2 of the recommended restaurants - The Horse and Farrier in Threlkeld and Morrells in Lake Road, Keswick, both were great. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had room 1 with a bay window but all the rooms look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fantastic stay for 3 nights. Excellent location for walking into town (but still quiet), immaculate room and tasty breakfast!

It's been stated in many reviews - but it really is the attention to detail that my girlfriend and I really appreciated. Fresh milk every day, L'Occitane toiletries, electric blankets, towelling robes etc.

Stephen was a top host "white bread, brown bread or a bit of both?!" and I would thoroughly recommend Stonegarth as your base for visiting the Lake District (about 25 mins from Seathwaite for Scafell Pike climb)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahloff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lovely B&B. We stayed over the Easter weekend. Location ideal. On site parking was a bonus. Room was spacious and well equipped and spotless. Fabulous breakfast - with a good selection. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

3 Nights at Stonegarth, what a great way to relax among some of this country's most wonderful scenery. The welcome was great along with the fantastic rooms, breakfasts and location near to town but quiet. We've been visiting the Lake District regularly since we honeymooned here a long time ago. This weekend was our 28th Anniversary and staying here made it one to remember. Thanks and see you again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 at the back, but all the rooms are full of character - go with the photos on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very lucky last minute choice for an overnight stay in Keswick, excellent value for money.
Luxurious room and ensuite, with all the extra touches such as L'Occitane toiletries, complimentary sherry on arrival and soft drinks available in the room.
Lovely friendly service and an excellent breakfast including locally sourced ingredients.
Ideally situated to give the best of both worlds; although Stonegarth is within easy walking distance of the town centre, it's quiet and peaceful at night. The off-road parking is a bonus.

I'd recommend this place to anyone, and would definitely go back anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 790DFR790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#10 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Property: Stonegarth Guest House
Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double 14 jet spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing