We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, despite other reviews we will be back.”

Sweeneys Bar Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Excellent experience, despite other reviews we will be back.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Whilst on holiday in Keswick, we visited Sweeneys twice, on both occasions, our experience was very pleasant. The food was great, we had roast beef on Father's Day and it melted in your mouth and was very tasty. The service was quick, friendly and efficient on both occasions and overall, our experiences here were both above average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cockneygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    24
    27
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chorley lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Well we had a lovely meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Right from the start great friendly professional service. The mains were particularly good. I had a rare steak and it was cooked to perfection. My husband has a homemade burger which he enjoyed very much. We shared a bottle of red which was reasonable and pleasant. I had a cheese board for dessert which was huge and of good quality and my husband said his brownie was more biscuity but he polished it all off! We really enjoyed our evening for £50 and was shocked to see the other reviews on here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chorleyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“don't bother!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was looking for fathers day lunch . . . this place looked ok on the outside, and not too bad on the inside . . .but the food was awful and very overpriced.
Give this one a miss!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fludie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rubbish service”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ate here one night with our 3 children as kids menu was advertised although I think they would prefer not to have children in there! Service was awful, only offered 1 drink for the entire meal, bar waiter took dessert order and got it wrong twice couldn't be bothered the second time to correct as by then we just wanted to leave. Food was nice but won't be returning, this has also put us off staying here which we were looking at for just myself and husband.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverWedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“potential to be good, but not even coming close.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Where to start?
We were attracted to restaurant by the exterior and the menu. Once we got inside things started to deteriorate. For a start the layout wasn't good, tables too close together and generally feeling cramped.
Next we noticed there were only two very stressed waiters hurriedly dashing around.

The first food problem was that they had run out of the still-advertised Sunday roasts which we only found out by asking about it, secondly on ordering a meal that contained chips, we were informed that they had run out which is forgivable until you realise that five out of six main courses on their 2 for £13.95 or 3 for £14.95 menus contain chips (oh and no, a jacket potato does not make up for this). Why we weren't informed of these things on arrival, we don't know. After ordering (and having to ask what the soup of the day was without being told) we had to ask to have our menus taken off the table.

Eventually we can say that the main course was very nice and reasonably sized.

When it came to dessert we ordered two sticky toffee puddings and nothing was said. When it arrived the waitress informed us that they had ran out of vanilla ice cream and as she placed them in front of us said they had replaced it for chocolate ice cream.

CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM WITH STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING, doesn't that say it all?

The table next to us complained about the cooking of their steaks and whether right or wrong about the steaks, were spoken to quite rudely by the manager.

Overall, understaffed waiter-wise which lead to simple mistakes, mainly communication, poor judgement upon food quantities needed for a bank holiday weekend leading to the running out of items, and poor service.

A shame considering some of the food is very nice but too many problems to forgive. Won't be returning.

Potential, but seriously failing to deliver.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweeneys Bar Restaurant also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Sweeneys Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing