We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run business in the heart of the hills”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely family run business in the heart of the hills”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent value for money, fantastic location and amazing views we have stayed in numerous times and love it more and more everytime Linda is lovely and always happy to help as is her daughter. The site is well looked after with all facilities needed for a relaxing peaceful holiday see you again very soon we hope

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    50
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
47
63
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the 2nd time in 3 months we have stayed here.The 2nd time was the best as we were the only ones camping and had the pick of the hook ups. We camped in the field facing main road but had to move as it was really really windy so we stopped outside the shower block which was sheltered. The only downside was the WiFi was down . Yet again thanks Linda :) will be sure to see you in 2014

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairet1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Burns Farm Campsite, and yet again a brilliant stay had by us both.
We pitched our tent up on 11th October in the morning and were charged £16 a night with electric. The ground was flat and nice to put our tent onto.
There was a mix of both caravans and tents, and the pitches are spaced out nicley so you dont get disturbed - Which was lovely. From what i can gather there are 3 different tents, a main one with electric and 2 more that are non-eletric pitches.
The toilet and shower blocks are clean, the showers are free - which is always a bonus. I did't have a day that I had a cold shower, always nice and warm. There are plugs in the shower blocks for ladies to dry your hair, straighten, charge your phone etc - this is if you dont have an eletric hook up. We did have a hook up and it was very good, we were able to have at least 2 things plugged in at once.
It is in great location, breathtaking views and plenty of walks that start right from the capsite. Keswick town is about an hours walk - or 5-10 minutes away in the car, which is ideal.
The staf here are lovely and friendly and will help you out with anything the best they can! :)
We will deffo be returning here in the near future.

Room Tip: On the main field, pitch (if you can) towards the top end, a better view from the trees and other ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattandlaura2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently enjoyed an 8 night "Glamping" holiday at this great camp site, and will certainly be returning for more. It was refreshing to have all of the electric washing and shower facilities included in the very reasonable price without having to carry pockets of change for electricity meters. The views of the local hills were stunning, especially Blencathra. Keswick is no more than a few minutes away, and there are ample local pubs and restaurants nearby to provide multiple options for eating and drinking out. We took the opportunity of using an electrical hook up, which provided enough power for most of our needs. The tent pitch was absolutely level, and our fellow campers were mostly well behaved (which is a rarity nowadays). My only gripe would be that the on-site wifi was a little low on power and /or speed, and was subject to occasional buffering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed at Burns Farm C&C 3 times, each time as a member of a group of walkers, twice with a caravan and once with a tent. We have really enjoyed it each time. The site is ideal as a base for walking on the local fells. It is a pleasant hour's walk along minor roads into Keswick town. Threlkeld village with a couple of good pubs is about 30 mins walk away in the opposite direction. The pitches are flat and well drained. The site's facilities are kept in good order and the staff are very helpful. As you can expect on a popular campsite with a mixture of tents and caravans (that don't have the best sound insulation) there are comings and goings and a little bit of noise, but it is quiet at night. We were tired enough not to bother anyway! We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Groups can ask to be put out of the way so as to not disturb others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGL_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed over the bank holiday and had a fantastic time a total credit to the owners everything just spot on will defiantly be going back and also passing it to many friends 10/10 the showers and toilets spotless and clean plenty of hot water lovely and peacefully on a nite

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the site for 3 nights over the bank holiday. The site was busy because of this.
Each night the camping area was quiet by 10pm and still quiet after 8am.
The shower block an WC was clean and had ample hot water.
You can walk to Keswick via the Stone Circle or along the old rail way line, both very nice! Mountains are close enough th walk in to or just a short car drive or cycle ride.
All in all a great weekend on a great camp site in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_and_Denise999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
24.5 mi away
Newby Bridge Country Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite

Property: Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite
Address: St Johns-in-the-Vale, Keswick CA12 4RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burns Farm lies in the beautiful Valley St-Johns-in-the-Vale. A idyllic part of the Lake District. You just need walk off the site in any direction and it won't be long before a hill comes under foot. From some of the highest ground in England, to the loveliest walk on a disused railway line by the River Greta, this is one of the greatest places on the planet to take your boots.Stunning scenery from the edges of the site wherever you cast your amazed gaze, situated on a traditional north Cumbria working hill farm, set in the heart of the mountains, it is a great base for walking or climbing the surrounding peaks of Blencathra, Skiddaw, Latrigg, Scafell Pike, Scafell, Catbells, Helvellyn, and Helvellyn range including Clough Head, to name a few. Just 4 miles to the nearest Lake of Derwentwater or Bassenthwaite, offering fishing and sailing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing