We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parkfield Guest House
Ranked #26 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A little piece of Heaven that must have slipped through the net. My wife and I have just come back from a week end at this fabulous Guest House. Home from home plus extras. John and Susan are excellent hosts. John with his friendly and helpful manner and Susan with her cooking skills produces a Breakfast to die for. You want it and it'll be served cooked to perfection. There is also a selection of fresh fruit, cereals and toast washed down with plenty tea or coffee. We stayed in room 4, which is a recent conversion of 2 rooms, and is massive with a huge bathroom. The premises throughout are spotless and tastefully decorated. We have already booked to go back in June, can hardly wait. Go on give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Gordon & Sandra, Hawick

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brock2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review , it's nice to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us , And it's especially nice that you felt so at home here , your comments regarding breakfast are much appreciated .
We look forward to your next visit with us in June , hopefully keswick will get some sunshine for then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Parkfield Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a very elegant guest house in a great position for enjoying the lovely town of Keswick. Our room was large and elegant and extremely comfortable. John was a great host and promptly served us a lovely cup of tea in the lounge. Breakfast was the best we have had in a guest house and we have stayed in many. We couldn't fault this place in any way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heaneyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thankyou for your great review of parkfield , we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us,
And thankyou for the lovely comments regarding our breakfast , we try very hard to use quality locally sourced produce and to provide a varied choice for everyone staying and its nice to receive compliments about it.
Hopefully if you travel this way again you will stay with us here at parkfield
We also hope your china and antiques all got back safely too!
Kind regards susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed three days in September 2012. The room was wonderful, only exceeded by the friendly and attentive service provided by John and Susan. They helped with dinner reservations, travel advice, and with parking, etc. While hiking I took a tumble and got mud all over a sweater - somehow they were able to extract the mud and return it to me in perfect condition without having to send it out to a cleaner. Personal service, great breakfasts, and a great room - what more can you ask! Tom and Judy Ginn

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for remembering your stay with us , your kind review is very much appreciated and we were more than happy to help make your stay as comfortable as it could be . We hope if you visit this lovely area again you will come and stay again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Parkfield once again over the Easter break, we have been regular guests over the past few years years and cannot recommend it highly enough.

John and Susan are the perfect hosts, making all their guests feel very welcome. They are also really helpful whenever any restaurant advice or suggestions are needed. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the Parkfield is in a perfect location, quiet but right in the centre of Keswick, with all its amenities close by. Breakfast is excellent, with a choice of fruit juice, cereals, fruit and yoghurts plus a full cooked english breakfast, tea/coffee and toast are plentiful.

We always have a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay whenever we visit the Parkfield and look forward to our next visit soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write such a nice review of parkfield , we really appreciate your kind comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your Easter stay once again with us ,
We shall see you later in the year in October !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Despite the terrible snow we still decided to venture out from Gloucestershire to Keswick for our planned trip away. After a five hour journey we arrived at Parkfield Guest house and were greeted by John & Susan and they gave us a lovely warm welcome and a much needed coffee. They gave us so much information about places to visit and places to eat and they made us a dinner reservation for that evening which was excellent.
Breakfast was great.....just what you need to start the day!
The guest house is warm, cosy and has a modern feel.
Keswick is gorgeous and the guest house is so close to the lake, shops and restaurants. You can walk everywhere.
They also have private parking which was a major plus for us when booking. (Not many places in keswick have that)
When we were leaving John cleaned all the snow off our car for us and turned it round ready to go. Excellent customer service and nothing was too much trouble.
We definateley recommend staying there and we will be back next time we visit the lakes!
Thank you both
Carly & Ruben

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room, it was perfect for a weekend away.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thankyou for this really kind review of parkfield , its always nice to feel that guests have fully enjoyed their stay with us and also in keswick itself which as you say is a beautiful place .
Hopefully you will come and visit again when the weather isn't so cold ! But I must say it didn't stop you getting around and enjoying everything .
Thanks again Susan .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

John and Susan could not have been more helpful. An excellent full English breakfast (or continental for those watching the calories) started the day. There's a seating area to sit, relax and chat after the day's activities. Before we left, John filled our car with water, brushed off the snow and helped us load up.
The location is perfect - a few minutes to town, the theatre or the lake. Recommended.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park to see the mountains.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thankyou for your great review of parkfield , we enjoyed having yourself and your family
To stay with us , we are really pleased your mum enjoyed her birthday and the theatre and
despite the snowy weather you all made the most of your stay here .

Hopefully we shall see you next time you all visit keswick .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

we stayed at john & susans guest house at keswick.Not a 2 min walk from the town where there are load of shops and restuarants,and a lovley chip shop.the lake was a lovley walk.good job there is a lovley cafe there to get a cupa and a cake. we have never stayed in the lakes before,what a lovley place to stay for our first time.The guest house, well to start john&susan you have a beauitfull home ,you made bob and me feel very welcome and relaxed.Thanks to john for helping bob to park the car. That is a god send that they have FREE parking at there guest house. susan showed us to our room and john helped with the bags.The room was very cosey clean and warm, tea coffee and botteled water ready for us. also susan made us a lovley hot drink and biscuits.......The breakfast was was delicious. you could help your self to fruit,yoghurts,cerales,jucies,then susan will cook a breakfast and toast to your likeing.plenty to eat.....thank you.......We had a relexing, cosey , two day stay at parkfield guest house we will be going there again. Thank you to susan and john you made the break so lovley with your relaxed way,, and your good food,,and your lovley home. see you soon .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thankyou very much for this really nice review of parkfield , we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay so much , your kind comments regarding the house are very much appreciated as we work very hard to make parkfield a nice place to stay for our guests ,
I'm so glad you enjoyed Keswick as a Great Lake district market town and all the lovely walks and picturesque views it has to offer and hope you will be back to see us again soon thanks again Susan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#69 of 189 in Keswick
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#15 of 189 in Keswick
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#17 of 189 in Keswick
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkfield Guest House

Address: Parkfield House The Heads | The Heads Keswick, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $141 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkfield Guest House is a silver four star award winning large victorian guest house situated in the prime position in Keswick, being situated opposite the small golf course and the beautiful gardens of hope park we have unobstructed mountain views of causey and grisedale pike and barrow it's just a short flat stroll to both the Town Centre ,theatre,and Derwentwater, "Queen of the Lakes." We offer Six beautifully decorated en-suite rooms, including double, twin and king size, all the rooms have been recently refurbished - most have stunning views. We also have a large guest lounge with mountain views and soft seating for guests to enjoy ,plan their next walk or sit quietly and read. wifi Is available through the whole house. Parkfield has a private car park with space for each guest car ,so guests can have a stress free stay. we look forward to welcoming you for your stay . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parkfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing