We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parkfield Guest House
Ranked #34 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have stayed a Parkfield a couple of times and cannot recommend it highly enough.
John & Susan are extremely graceous & welcoming hosts. The rooms are clean, spaceous, comfortable yet cozy and have amazing views. The beds were very comfortable, just what you need after a big walk.
The breaksfast is fantastic, locally sourced and cooked to perfection and really sets you up for a day on the hills. John & Susan are very knowledgeable about the area and more than happy to share their expert views, whether it is places to eat or hills to walk.
The location of Parkfield couldn't be better, it was so peaceful you would never think you were only a minutes walk to the town centre.
The last point to make is that you can park off street which is a rarity so close to the centre of Keswick.
We cannot wait to go back as it feels like we have discovered a hidden gem. A place you want to return to again and again.

We

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
136
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have just returned from a short break at the Parkfield and I can honestly say I have never had a more enjoyable stay anywhere.The standards set by John and Sue are exceptional .we had a kingsize room which was beautifully furnished and decorated.The bed was very comfortable and there was a fantastic view of Catbells.
The breakfast is of the highest quality with a bewildering choice of fresh fruits and cereals ,followed by a superb cooked breakfast.
John and Sue are great hosts ,friendly ,helpful and show a genuine interest in their guests .
The location is perfect providing easy access to the Lake and the Town .The added bonus of off road private parking makes this an ideal place to stay.
We will definitely be returning .

Room Tip: All rooms very good but both Kingsize rooms have stunning views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jajanemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have just returned from a repeat visit to Parkfield Guest House, and as always, we talk about when we will return. John and Susan Berry are absolutely the best hosts, and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive to the time you say goodbye at the door as you leave. Their home is beautiful and they welcome you in as if you were family. We stayed in one of the new king size rooms on this trip, and it was very pleasant to be able to sit in comfortable upholstered chairs and admire the amazing Lake District view outside our windows while we sipped coffee.
John and Susan make a wonderful team as they take care of their guests every morning at breakfast. John attends to every guest personally, by name, while Susan prepares a traditional English breakfast, customized to your requests. If a hot breakfast does not suit you, there is a fine array of yogurt, dried and fresh fruit, cereals & juices to please all.
If you are in need of sightseeing directions or advice, John & Susan are very knowledgeable & helpful also.
Parkfield Guest House has set the standard for us as we travel throughout Europe.

Room Tip: All room sizes are comfortable. If you desire more space, request one of the king size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc and Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Having last stayed at the Parkfield about 4years ago, we have just returned from a long weekend and have to say with all honesty that it just gets better AND better. John and Susan are fantastic hosts and NOTHING is too much trouble the rooms are comfortable , clean and well furnished.The breakfast is superb with an outstanding choice I couldnt wait to get up in the morning and we were ALWAYS first down.
we dont think you will find anywhere as good in the WHOLE of Keswick.
Thankyou Sue and john WE WILL BE BACK SOON.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
It's really nice when people take the time to write a review , we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay .
The reviews mean a lot to us so thankyou very much , John and Susan Parkfield .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have stayed here for a number of years now at different times of the year and find it difficult to fault this guest house. The location is ideal with the lake and town centre within easy walking distance away, or as a base to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside by car or for walking. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated to a very high standard and extremely comfortable. The two new larger bedrooms, one we had this year, overlook the park and pitch & putt and have fantastic views of the hills - very relaxing to sit and look out too. The breakfast room and guest lounge are light and airey and also of a very high standard. We found the breakfast excellent with a selection of hot and cold options which gave us a good start to the day's activities!! We have found the owners very friendly and helpful,and we have no hesitation about recomending this Guest house. An added bonus is there is some parking available for car owners which we have found useful

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b8suu, Owner at Parkfield Guest House, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thankyou for your kind review of parkfield , we are really pleased that you enjoy staying with us ,
And we look forward to your next visit .

Could I just mention that Parkfield has six rooms and has six parking spaces so there is no confusion over the amount of private parking available to guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We came to Parkfields for the weekend and it was fantastic. The owners are very welcoming and the room was of a very high standard and extremely spacious. The views outside of our window were breathtaking, just what we needed to recharge our batteries.
We will definatley be returning, Parkfields is the only guesthouse for us in Keswick from now on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_James_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Thanks to John and Susan for such a lovely place to stay, although we didn't have a view over the park, it was a very pleasant room. Very friendly and never had such a great breakfast, fresh fruit salad, berries, yogurts (all kinds) and all the usual cereals, fresh fruit. Just such a friendly place to be and would definitely recommend to friends. Also great to be able to park up and forget about the car as it is always hard to find parking places.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#14 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#97 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#8 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkfield Guest House

Property: Parkfield Guest House
Address: Parkfield House The Heads | The Heads Keswick, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkfield Guest House is a silver four star award winning large victorian guest house situated in the prime position in Keswick, being situated opposite the small golf course and the beautiful gardens of hope park we have unobstructed mountain views of causey and grisedale pike and barrow it's just a short flat stroll to both the Town Centre ,theatre,and Derwentwater, "Queen of the Lakes." We offer Six beautifully decorated en-suite rooms, including double, twin and king size, all the rooms have been recently refurbished - most have stunning views. We also have a large guest lounge with mountain views and soft seating for guests to enjoy ,plan their next walk or sit quietly and read. wifi Is available through the whole house. Parkfield has a private car park with space for each guest car ,so guests can have a stress free stay. we look forward to welcoming you for your stay . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parkfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing