We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2006

Great food - best we have had anywhere - room acceptable, ensuite a bit small, but we did not spend much time in the room anyway. Free internet access a boon!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sailorman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 418 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2006

I can't disagree with much of what is said in previous reviews as it really depends how high you set your expectations - so all I can say is that, having stayed in many of the worlds's finest hotels and eaten in many of the world's best restaurants, I have the following comments:

1. Service - absolutely exemplary and very friendly
2. Rooms (we stayed in 17) - clean, comfortable and spacious with a lovely view (though there is a golf course between you and the lake)
3. Location - five minutes walk to one of the best views in the Lake District and a similar distance to town centre (though this is a small, Lake District town after all)
4. Food - I really wanted to say it is amazing but the truth is that despite the excellent presentation, it's really no better than good gastropub food, though there certainly is plenty of it! This doesn't mean to say its not very tasty just don't expect anything approaching Gordon Ramsay.

Overall though I would have no hesitation recommending this place if you are visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaffam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2006

We stayed at the highfield for 3 nights on the 22nd july. we stayed in the turret room, which had another room up some stairs, where you could sit. It had a lovely veiw. The only thing wrong with this room is the bathroom is far too small. It was our anniversary on the 24th and the owners put a teddy in our room which was a very nice touch, also they put "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate around the side of our dessert plate. It was a nice surprise to see it. I dont know how the people in the last reveiw can say the food was terrible. We found the food excellent. Not the food we were used too, but was of a very high standard. We tasted food that we had never eaten in our lives. Thats how good it was. Ladies forget your diets if your staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ivp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Just got back from a wonderfull 3 night stay at the Highfield.
Mine hosts Howard and Caroline, and the rest of the staff make you feel so welcome and enhanced our break with excellent service. We mentioned shortly after arrival that one of us suffered from Coeliac disease, and after that without prompting received glutten free toast with breakfast, and even glutten free canapes with dinner.
The food throughout our stay was FANTASTIC, beautifully cooked and presented.
We had room 16 at the front of the hotel with a balcony and views over Hope park towards Derwent water.
Keswick is a lovely town, dont miss the Saturday market, or a night at the Theatre by the lake. We spent a lovely hour on the no79 bus (Borrowdale rambler) from Keswick to Seatoller,along the shores of the Derwent.
Soaking up the early evening sun while enjoying pre dinner drinks in the garden gazing over those wonderfull views takes some beating.
Most guests at the Highfield we're repeat visitors like ourselves, attracted by the discreet service and mouth watering food.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank carl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2006

After having viewed the very many complimentary comments about the Highfield on the Trip Advisor website, and having checked their excellent website (highly recommended as it shows pictures of all their available rooms), we booked a two night dinner, bed and breakfast stay in July 2006.

The whole reservation and check in process was faultless (although note that the hotel car park is not easy to find, being sandwiched in down a narrow unsurfaced road behind the Hazeldene hotel). We had booked the Woodford Room, a converted chapel, and were most impressed by the layout and size of the room with its sitting area set up on a raised area which appeared to have been the altar area when the room was previously used as a chapel. There was a large very comfortable bed and the many large windows let in lots of light. The ensuite bathroom was of a good size but somewhat dated looking and the shower tray did not empty properly (although we mentioned this the following morning at reception and on our return that evening, it had been fixed).

Shortly after settling into our room, we ordered an ice bucket and two wine glasses. These arrived very promptly but we were rather surprised to find that the hotel charges you £5 to provide these. In our experience, the vast majority of establishments would provide this service free of charge.

On arriving down in the lounge area in the evening, you are provided with dinner menus and served with some canapes. A four course dinner is then served in the restaurant. We had been very much looking forward to the food here given the restaurant's 2 AA rosette status and the many favourable prior reviews about the food on this website. Unfortunately, in our view (and we have been to many restaurants with similar awards and charging similar prices) the food was generally disappointing. On both nights, the homemade bread was excellent and the dessets were good. However, the starters and particularly the main courses were somewhat bland, unimaginative and generally not of the quality you would expect from a restaurant charging £32.50 for dinner. We did hear that the chef may only have very recently changed which might explain the somewhat disappointing food. Also, when asked, the waitresses were not always able to explain what some of the dishes contained and had to go back to the kitcken to check. I wouldn't expect this to be the case in a high quality restaurant.
I should mention, however, that the breakfasts were of a good standard.

Otherwise, the general service in the hotel was excellent and the owners very friendly. Also, the views out over the lake and beyond to Cat Bells from the garden were superb. The hotel's location is excellent being just a short stroll from the town centre.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay at Highfield but just feel that the dining experience let it down a little.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank JohnWestcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PlaneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
800 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
5.3 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing