We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with magnificent views”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I've recently returned from a stay in this wonderful hotel. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and spacious. The room also had a table and chairs in a window which had beautiful views of the fells, lovely to pull back the curtains after waking and be greeted with such a fabulous sight! The staff were extremely professional and friendly, and the food was very very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunnyD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 405 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in the Highfield Hotel while visiting Keswick for the Jennings Jazz Festival. The hotel has uninterrupted, beautiful views over the lake and the mountains. Our bedroom was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and very professional. The hotel has ample car parking. The food was superb, breakfast offered a full range of choice and dinner was wonderful, well cooked and beautifully presented. My wife has food intolerances, both gluten and dairy. The chef provided a wide choice of items from the menu cooked especially to suit her needs. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

You can't fault this hotel's location and friendly atmosphere if you're looking for a good value for money option in the heart of Keswick. We enjoyed a long Bank Holiday break here, which was ideal for re-charging the batteries.

Rooms are individually decorated and it looks like they've been renovated recently. Our room was immaculate and had a lovely view across the park, lake and catbells. The bed/mattress was incredibly comfortable and the blackout curtains and quiet rooms meant we were well rested by the time we checked out. The only thing I missed in our room was a more contemporary bathrooms and bath, which would have been ideal after our longs walks.

The breakfast and dining rooms boasts beautiful views over Derwentwater and the friendly team, great service and quality food certainly impressed guests. If you're an early bird walker you might want to check if you can organise an early breakfast as the hours are 8am - 9.30am. The breakfast was delicious but I would have personally welcomed a bit more variety.

There's lots of places to eat out in Keswick but I would recommend booking an evening meal at the hotel too. The evening food and dining experience exceeded my expectations and we heard locals reserve tables at the hotel, which is always a good sign.

I'd certainly stay here again if there was a room with a bath.

Room Tip: Take a look on the hotel's website and select the style of room that best suits you - the room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemmaleigh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at Highfields. We had a room at the front with the splendid views so frequently described on Tripadvisor. Suffice to say we weren’t disappointed. Room 17 was light and airy, tastefully decorated thoroughly cleaned each day. The bathroom was smallish and the bath itself was tiny. A bit of a disappointment but not a deal breaker. The only other minor quibble were the pillows which didn’t suit us but there weren’t alternatives apparently. We ate twice in the hotel and it was very good on both occasions 4/5. Great location for a walk in to Keswick and more specifically The Dog & Gun (probably the best boozer in town) – 5 minutes and you’re there.

All in all a return trip is likely. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our 2nd visit in 2 years. Overall it was excellent - clean, modern and in a simply awesome location for the many things Keswick has to offer, with on-site parking. We paid a reasonable price too.

We just had a few wee foibles! Our room (15) although lovely, with a nice view, was quite noisy from the room above. The fact that the person in the room upstairs visited the loo (with noisy extractor fan) about 15 times each night didn't help though!

We like to be quite late for breakfast (9.15), and on both days, we sat at the only table still set for breakfast, which was right at the back of the room, sitting very close to another couple - it was quite awkward. The breakfast 'crew' should re-set the best tables in the restaurant (with the amazing view), so that subsequent breakfasters can use them - this would have made quite a big difference to us.

Despite the niggles, we look forward to returning, but we might have to ask for the Turret room like we had 2 years ago!

Room Tip: Turret rooms are small, but special. Room 15 was lovely, but can be noisy depending on other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently stayed at the Highfield and were very impressed with the wecome on arrival and the friendliness of all the staff we met.

We had an excellent view of the lake from our room which was well appointed and very clean.

We didn't eat in the Restaurant opting instead for one of the restaurants in town although we had heard good reports.

Breakfast was a little disappointing which consisted of smoked bacon; a sausage; an egg; 2 mushrooms and half a grilled tomato on a plate that was so hot the egg actually went hard at the table as it continued cooking. We have stayed in other B & B's in Keswick on many occasions and had much better breakfasts.

There is a small car park to the rear of the hotel and it's a short walk into the town centre so it's very convenient.

I would recommend this hotel but would maybe try another due to the breakfast

Room Tip: Go for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brufsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have recently returned from our fifth stay at the Highfield Hotel and my wife and I could not have asked for any better location and service.
We had all our evening meals in the restaurant, the food was excellent with a very good menu to choose from.
Our bedroom was very spacious, well maintained, clean and well equipped.
All the staff where very polite, helpful and smartly dressed.
We have no doubt about recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
645 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $138 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing