We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location as a base to explore the beautiful surroundings.”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“perfect location as a base to explore the beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This delightful hotel is in great location in Kesick,is in close walking to all amenties i.e shops, Booths supermarket,restaurants, theatre at Derwent Lake,boating and golf.Of course close by are excellent walking to Walla crag or more adventourous Blen Cathra.The Manager/staff very friendly and always helpful. Meals were heavenly, room clean and lvoley lake view.

Room Tip: lake view front of hotel is excellent.Vista is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    87
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
257
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Keswick is one of the loveliest towns in the Lake District. It is full of activity, restaurants, a bustling market on Fridays, and home to the acclaimed Theatre By The Lake. There are numerous choices for lodging in the area, but Highfield Hotel stands out for its location and its cuisine. Situated amidst a group of beautiful Victorian buildings, Highfield Hotel looks out over Hope Park and Derwentwater. Rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable beds, down pillows and comforters. Rooms are not particularly large, but certainly adequate. We stayed in one of the balcony rooms with delightful views overlooking the park. The cuisine at Highfield is memorable for its quality and its presentation. The menu has numerous choices, and the food is expertly prepared. Dinner begins with the chef's choice of dainty hors d'oevres followed by a starter, sorbet, main and dessert. Among the food we chose was a magnificent Stilton and spinach quiche, tomato and green chili soup, wild mushroom ragout and saffron linguini with a fabulous cheese course to finish. The lemon sorbet served as a palate cleanser is outstanding! A full English breakfast in included in the rate. Having previously stayed in a number of places in Keswick we definitely would return to HIghfield.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the park and the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights during our honeymoon. What an amazing place! Our room was luxurious and had a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. This hotel is in a great location too; away from the bustle of downtown Keswick, but an easy five-minute walk to all the bars and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed every moment of our stay.

The food is also excellent and probably the best meal you will find in Keswick, especially for you foodies out there. The menu changes daily. They also have a really nice wine list and great single malts to choose from. The hotel manager knew it was our honeymoon, and the night we dined in the restaurant, he had our dessert brought out on plates that said "congratulations"; very sweet and a nice touch. After dinner, they give you the option to retire to the sitting room for tea or an after dinner drink. Very cozy and romantic.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 16 on the first floor, it was lovely and had a balcony. We also peeked into the Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francine958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Highfield with great expectations. We were disappointed with our room as we felt it to be a little on the shabby side. Firstly, there was Bly a shower, not a bath in the bathroom, and the shower was a 'Mira' shower with water that came through either boiling hot or freezing cold. The radiator in the bedroom would not turn off so we were very hot the whole stay. There was black mildew around the windows. Having said all of that the customer care was excellent and the food I the evening was excellent. However, breakfast was a little disappointing in that the plates were so hot that if touched we would have had a bad burn and this heat carried on cooking the food long after it had left the pan! The bacon(smoked only) had been cooked and reheated (in our opinion) but the fresh fruit was delicious. Would we stay again- probably not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoboPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we booked our coast to coast cycle trip, I was concerned to ensure above average board and lodgings. Four of our party of nine had travelled from Pittsburgh, and one from Holland. I wanted their experience to be memorable. I negotiated accommodation with the holiday company, and I have to say this was the one place they proposed which concerned me. I had seen it from the outside, and whilst attractive and in a good location, I was concerned it might be better suited to a more genteel clientele than our epicurean and active crew, well seasoned though we all were. I was pleased to be proved very wrong. Young proprietors Nick and Dawn provided an excellent warm welcome, very well decorated rooms, and very good quality food with a reasonable wine list. Stay and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a Derwent Water view, it's worth checking, The turret rooms are fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a night at the Highfield with our teenage son. From the moment we arrived the attention we received was relentless ....the room was immaculate and the food absolutely breathtaking . A short stroll to the town was ideal and it was great just being able to park the car in the hotel car park. My only bugbear was that we didn't book to stay longer. Would definitely return to this hotel, but maybe without the grumpy teen, as this would make a lovely romantic break;)

Room Tip: Room 15 ideal if traveling with a child
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DECHARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in the Highfield Hotel over the weekend of the Keswick Jazz Festival. The room was very comfortable with a superb bath and tea making facilities. The evening meal every evening was excellent. The staff are friendly helpful and looked after us extremely well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing