We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Little Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
st andrews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Little Getaway”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent the New Year at this family friendly hotel with a view of Derwent Water and some additional small lakes on the 9 hole golf course due to the heavy rainfall prior to our visit! The welcome from staff was very good and staff service was excellent troughout our stay. There was a very good menu with plenty of choice and wines which were at a reasonable price. Food standards were high and all four of us enjoyed this New Year experience.Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and decor was of a reasonable standard although one bedroom had an ill fitting window. This was a thoroughly enjoyable small hotel and we would definitely return to this great little getaway in the Lakes.All staff were very helpful and attentive but not intrusive.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackostandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    85
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
253
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lacepede, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here with family for my 65th and had an excellent time. Staff were very helpful, food was superb and it all made for a very good stay for us all. Very traditional superlative British hospitality with well-trained and accommodating staff. One of the best small hotels have ever stayed in.

BP

Room Tip: Stayed in the Woodford - no lakeside view but large and very comfortable. Wi-fi works well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancs
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent New Years Eve in this hotel, absolutely great. Had the Woodford Room which was a small chapel before so the room was huge although does not have a view of the lake. I cannot praise the staff high enough. Extremely helpful without being over intrusive, but the chefs deserve the highest praise. My husband and I are real foodies and this place didn't disappoint. The selection on the menus covered all tastes and also the wine list was extensive. A lovely place to celebrate any celebration, in fact, just to go and sample the food and hospitality you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room overlooking the park and not all rooms have a bath some only have show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had an overnight stay between Christmas and New Year and really enjoyed ourselves. We were allocated a different room than we originally booked, bigger and with better views so no complains there. The room was well decorated, spacious and clean, a little note to the maintenace team the shower seal although not dirty looks awful it needs replacing, that was the only drawback, but I am very fussy! The evening dinner was really lovely and would certainly recommend. The staff were all very helpful and kind nothing was any trouble. We equally enjoyed breakfast and could appreicate the great views during the daylight. Overall a very enjoyable time and great food and service. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just stayed with friends for 2 nights over New Year. Found the Highfield via its website and chose it after speaking to the manager on the phone, as they were not doing a special New Year package. These always seem to be too much forced jollity and a rip off!. We stayed Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. It all far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were well appointed, quiet and very comfortable. Meals in the restaurant were just unbelievable. The quality and choice were wonderful and each evening felt like a special occasion. Service was excellent and we did not feel rushed.
The whole experience was greatly enhanced by the manager, Nick and his wonderful staff. Helpful, friendly without being "pally", and efficient. They give the impression of really enjoying their work and taking great pride in providing excellent service to their guests.
Despite awful weather, we had a wonderful stay, and are sure to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosyoldtwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just returned from 3 days at the Highfield Hotel in Keswick (our 3rd time staying there). The rooms were their usual super standard and the chefs (Gus & Henri) excelled themselves yet again. Nick, the manager was attentive as usual (despite getting married in 2 weeks time!) as was Sarah on Reception and all the waiting staff also. We will definitely return again (maybe when the rain stops!)

Room Tip: Room 4 has a super king size bed and a small balcony. Room 2 has a great picture window overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurelie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I’ll begin this review by saying that we have stayed at the Highfield on five occasions so you can reasonably infer that we think it’s an excellent hotel. It has much to recommend it not least of which is it’s location on The Heads in Keswick overlooking Hope Park and with amazing views across Derwentwater towards the Borrowdale fells and eating breakfast with that view outside the window is priceless. This time we were in Room 5 and on previous visits we have stayed in rooms 15, 16 and 17; those at the front of the house are preferable with my favourite being room 16 which is decorated in a boutique style with a small balcony on which you can sit with a nice glass of wine and take in the views. The first time we stayed on a B&B basis but since then we have always included dinner in the award-winning restaurant, which is amazing. You book your time in advance and whilst you consider what to order you are presented with chef’s canapés. To begin with we were served freshly made and still-warm bread rolls, two each of cinnamon & raisin and pesto flavoured. To start my wife had the pan-fried scallops and black pudding with smoked pancetta while I had the chicken liver parfait on Rosemary brioche with apple and cinnamon chutney, a wonderfully rich mixture of tastes and textures. For the main course we had the Fillet of Beef, which is probably the best steak I have ever tasted and well worth the £4.50 supplement. There is an excellent wine list offering bottles from a very reasonable price of less than £20 to more expensive wines if you want to push the boat out a little. The breakfast menu is equally impressive and as well as the ubiquitous full Cumbrian it has a range of alternatives as well as cereal, fruit, yoghurt and copious amounts of toast and coffee or tea. Another valuable asset is the staff who are always cheerful and can’t do enough for you particularly Nick the manager. The hotel is a couple of minutes’ walk from both the lake and the town centre and has a roomy car park to the rear which is really important because on-street parking is difficult to find. The icing on the cake was that our booking attracted the special offer rate of only £70 per night rather than the regular rate for our room of £105 per night. This will definitely not be our last time at the Highfield.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those on the first floor at the front two of which have small balconies idea for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing