We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Having stayed at a number of hotels in the Lake District over the years, we found this hotel to be disappointing. The rooms we had booked (5 and 6) were comfortable if a bit on the small side.

The evening meals were nicely presented although a few more vegetables would have been appreciated. The bread however was delicious!

The breakfasts were poor. The full English were the worst we had been served anywhere and to be charged an extra £2.50 for smoked salmon and scrambled egg on a crumpet was rather mean. The vegetarian breakfasts weren't much better and our request for some baked beans was politely refused.

The service was mixed with the coffee, and toast going cold before the cooked breakfast arrived. A polite request for replacements was not greeted with much enthusiasm.

With one exception we found the staff, who were all quite young, not very friendly and uncommunicative. The hotel seemed to shut down after dinner and was lacking in the warmth and atmosphere we had experienced elsewhere. In our opinion not worthy of it's award winning status.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Highfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 399 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2008

I stayed at the Highfield with my mother and accomodation was perfect. A ground floor room was suggested and access from the rear car park is easy. Food was fantastic and staff frriendly and obliging. Views from the rooms are stunning and location cannot be bettered for Derwent Water and keswick who needs a car.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lesliebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

stayed at the highfield hotel overnight for our anniversary in october. i have stayed at this hotel many times. i like to stay in room 5 that has views to the rear to the mountains of skiddaw and to the front the lake derwent. the hotel is excellent with good sized rooms,spotless,and good off road parking. we had booked to go to the theatre and the hotel does early theatre meals. the hotel has excellent food with a rosette award. the staff are all helpful and polite. i little bit more expensive than other nearby hotels but for a special occasion is worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank garage3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Stayed there for 3 nights in one of the Turret rooms. These rooms are a little small but pleasant and the views front and back are spectactular. The private Turret room at the top makes up for the size.
Parking to the rear of the hotel means you are close to the town centre and the Keswick launch.
The staff were all polite and helpful and the food is very good value - the menu is limited but this helps to ensure the quality is high and occassionally adventurous (a salmon and black pudding terrine which works well).

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Marpleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We were GREETED by a lovely Polish girl whose English was very good and most welcoming. We STAYED D.B.B.at £65pppn in room 21 on the 2nd floor (no lift) which had a wonderful view of the monkey puzzle tree which totally blocked any views of the lake. The room was spacious and well equipped and the shower room (no bath) was bright, clean and cozy. I would RECOMMEND rooms on the first floor (2, 4, 16, 17) for good views and facilities (2 and 17 have a bath as well as a shower) BREAKFAST was very comprehensive with an excellent choice f cereals, fruit, meats, and a FULL traditional English selection including fish. DINNER was preceded by complimentary canapes and followed by 4 courses of EXCELLENT FOOD. There was an EXCELLENT SELECTION of drinks(bottled real ale, wines and spirits)- no bar but the waiter service in the lounges was speedy. A VERY GOOD PRIVATE HOTLEL WHOSE AIM IS YOUR COMFORT AND SATISFACTION.Go for it if your waistline can take it!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Keltis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My cousin booked for us to stay here as a wedding present this july.
We stayed for 2 nights in the east turret room. This was a lovely quirky room with a little staircase leading from the bedroom into a small turret area with window seats and views over the lake.
Whilst the turret is a lovely feature, the double room is quiet small, and the shower room absolutley tiny.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, with tea/coffee facilities and tv with dvd player.
My cousin had ordered us champagne and chocolates, but to hire a champagne bucket and 2 glasses would have cost £5 per day!
The highlight of the stay has to be the unbelievable food. 4 course dinner included in the price. Beautifully served and presented. You also get served drinks and canapes in the lounge whilst choosing your courses from the menu!
The breakfasts were also nicely presented, but a little dry. No beans, and the toast served before the hot breakfast so was cold when trying to spread the butter!
There was very little atmosphere in the dining room at dinner or breakfast. very quiet and flat.
I think the average age of the other guests was 50-60, and with us being in our 20's, we felt a little out of place!
Overall though, lovely hotel, lovely food and great location

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jordan232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Stayed here with my Mum at the beginning of June 07 for our annual short trip away together, and we thought it was fabulous! We had two
'traditional' single rooms on the top floor at the back of the hotel with views to the hills rather than the lake. It's a hike up there with bags, but at £65 DB&B it seemed a bargin! I think you pay £32.50
for evening meal alone if you're not a resident. Room was fine, cheerful, clean and prettily decorated - shower-room not at all bad for a single. BUT, you stay at this hotel for the food - its fantastic! To sit on the terrace in the evening with a pre-dinner drink, looking at that sensational view and its ever-changing light, nibbling on exquisite amuse bouches ... well that memory alone will keep me going through next winter! The restaurant food IS definately exceptional (and I've also "eaten in the best hotels ... blarb, blarb") - there was one crab and horseradish starter, which was one of the best starters I've ever eaten, and then there's the Fell Lamb,
the Guinea Fowl ... oooww, just book and enjoy! We met people there who now don't go anywhere else! And why not get some theatre tickets too - and you can stroll across the park to two fabulous little theatres in about 10mins, if that. I'm taking my husband back!!! I also picked up a leaflet when we left for special offers in Nov and earlier Dec where you only pay for the food! You know what - those regulars are going to have to book well ahead!! I picked up a couple of leaflets at other 'designer boutique-style' hotels that are springing up all over the lakes - the prices are staggeringly high and I bet the food isn't as good as the Highfield's!

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank HLMWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $141 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing