We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and great atmosphere”

Theatre by the Lake
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theatre by the Lake has a setting on the shores of Derwentwater no other professional theatre in Britain can match. Each year it stages up to nine of its own productions of classic, modern and new plays on its two stages and has won multi-starred reviews from national critics. It also hosts festivals of literature, jazz, film and mountains. There are lifts to all levels and wheelchair users can get to all front-of-house and backstage areas. Both auditoria have enhanced-hearing and induction loop systems.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been to talks and a play at the Theatre, which has a pleasant auditorium and good facilities. You'd be hard pressed to find a performace facility in a better location - wonderful views over Derwentwater and a very pleasant walk to reach it from the town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank susanlucas1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    206
    46
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Jazz venue for the Festival”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

the Theatre had concerts in two rooms throughout the festival, the seating is comfortable the toilets are clean and the catering is great. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent jazz festival”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

a great jazz festival weekend with lots going on. the theatre as a venue was excellent with really friendly staff and a great sound. loved the studio room

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jazz”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great venue, staff and volunteers - spoiled by one over-officious 'jobsworth' who had no flexibility

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert_buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheatrebytheLake, Marketing Manager at Theatre by the Lake, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Visitor,

I’m delighted that, overall, you found our staff helpful and friendly – we endeavour to provide a really welcoming environment for all of our customers. However, I’m sorry to hear that, for you, it was not the case in all of your contact with our staff. I hope that you raised this during your visit, as our frontline managers and team leaders are always there to help customers during their visit. However, if you did not feel able to do so, please do ring me tell me about your experience on 017687 72282.

Rachel Swift
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Energetic and enthusiastic performance!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

For the ticket price; theatre productions here are pretty good value (particularly considering as most other establishments in 'The Lakes' tend to charge London prices); my wife and I saw 'Kiss Me Kate' on Sat evening May'13 early Bank Holiday: £15 each for box seats. Whilst the ensemble cast were of mixed ability - (they did though throw their hearts into the roles) ... the lead man and lady were the clear talent-stars and made the trip out that night a memorable delight!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre by the Lake also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Theatre by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing