We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived much later than expected for our two night stay at Lairbeck but were greeted cheerily at the door and the man carried our case to the room for us.
The room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely big en suite but could really do with a new lick of paint I think, their appeared to be a few marks possibly from past water damage?
The cumbrian breakfast was great and served by a lovely lady happy to chat and help suggest places to go and see.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yendors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    44
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
27
108
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hallbankgate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at Lairbeck for 2 nights over a weekend.

Hosts were very accommodating. When they knew I was leaving early for a walk on Sat am (before breakfast served) they offered to make me up a take out breakfast which was a kind. I stayed in a single room which was spacious for a single with outstanding views of Skiddaw. Wifi did not work in room but was fine in communal areas.

When you leave the hotel you have to leave your key on a board. I appreciate this is for safety etc but didn't seem particularly secure - anyone could help themselves to it if they chose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Lairbeck as a base for a 4 day walking holiday, and proved to be an excellent for this kind of holiday.

Don't be put off by the rather dated entrance and lounge, the hotel is set-up as a modern B&B hotel. The room we stayed in was a little small, but perfectly adeqaute, it had a modern interior with and extremely comfortable bed, and a window with views of the hills. The bathroom was very well appointed with, as is necessary on these kind of holidays, an excellent shower.

The breakfast was a choice of typical full english, continental, or kippers. We tried all options and they were all very done, with the owners happy to be flexible on how we ordered. We also had the option to have a packed lunch prepared for us.

The owners were relaxed and attentive, without intrusive, and so got things just right.

Although they do not cater for dinner, there is a well stcoked bar, and the town centre is an easy 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Fantastic service all around. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the wifi is fast, and the shower is hot. I booked the Lairbeck Hotel for a week with my mother (her first trip to England!) and was very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustinfarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Owners helpful and accommodating. We arrived very early but were met with assistance and friendliness. Room was well appointed and spotless. Bar was a pleasant spot to work using WiFi

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent three nights here at the beginning of June 2014, and had an excellent stay. The owners could not have been more helpful, especially as we are bird watchers and they pointed us in the right direction for the birds we wanted to see. Breakfast was very good and our room was very comfortable. We hope to visit again some time.

Room Tip: The "Drawing Room" had a lovely view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 27-29 May and were greeted with a very warm welcome. The owners were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel was spotless clean and our room was spacious with good amenities and overlooked the beautiful garden. Breakfast was lovely and again service was friendly and very efficient. We have stayed in hotels throughout the world and what makes the Laibeck special is the hospitality of the owners. I certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Property: Lairbeck Hotel
Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing