We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lairbeck Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$106
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$134
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$215
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
131
48
13
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
48
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely buildingfabulous hotelpheasant innsmall hotelshort breaklarge roomcooked breakfastwarm welcomefresh fruitplenty of choicebiscuitsmalcolmskiddaw
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 206 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Lovely hotel, warm hospitality and great atmosphere. We really enjoyed our holiday in Lairbeck Hotel but we wish it was a bit closer to ... Italy! Grazie to Malcolm, Jennifer and Karen.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank Manuela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Ciao!

Thank you for your kind review. We were so happy to meet you all and much appreciated your great company, happy spirits and warm smiles. Grazie! We wish we were closer to Italy too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I think that there are a couple of individual features about this hotel to note; both could be seen as either positive or negative depending on your perspective.

1) The evening meal arrangements: if you take an evening meal you are presnted with the menu at breakfast and make a selection from 4/5 starters and 3 main courses - all of these change each day. The choices are of the home cooking rather than fine dining variety. This was exactly what we wanted so worked very well for us but if you like to be - for instance - always able to have a steak then you should be aware of this.

2) Not a good hotel for smokers. I never expect to be able to smoke indoors and am very happy to comply with these rules - however not being able to smoke in the garden seems excessive to me.

Having made these remarks there are lots of positives ; the friendliness of the owners and staff (well one member of staff who worked incredibly hard), the comfort and views from the rooms, the standard of the cooking. If you are happy with a limited menu and, preferably, a non-smoker then this is an ideal hotel. We met people who had been coming back for years and years so it obviously gets a lot right!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milordbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thank you for your review and your wife’s very kind comments in the guest book about our food and ambiance.
We try to take improvement points from all reviews and so far as our food is concerned, particularly our Michelin commended dinners you seem to be very happy for yourself but worried that other guests with different perspectives might be surprised by our dining arrangements. Please don’t worry, this is not possible because we ask every guest, during booking, if they have any special dietary requirements (including likes & dislikes). We explain in advance as we did with you and have the dining arrangements explained, with specimen menus, on our website. As a result you wisely told us in advance of your requirement for good home cooking and that one of your party preferred her food plain (our chef took this into account in menu planning ensuring that she had a plain choice each day). Although you say you were happy, you describe our menu as ‘limited’ but (as you explain) during your three night stay you were able to choose from at least 12 different starters, 9 main courses, and 15 deserts. Each and everyone prepared at Lairbeck from top quality ingredients and not one prepared dish ‘bought in’. No matter how long a guest stays with us (18 days is the record so far) they are never offered the same item twice during their stay (unless by their special request).
You kindly gave us a long list of positives and top scores for five out of six categories and recognized that this is achieved with a small team who work incredibly hard to achieve very high standards, thank you.
We really would like to be able to offer some improvement from your perspective with regard to our ‘smoking policy’ but sadly we cannot. We think the vast majority of our guests including quite a lot of smokers recognize that it is not reasonable for non-smokers to have to enter the hotel via of fog of smoke from smoking just outside the front porch. Many find it unappealing to see cigarette ends randomly dropped in our lovely garden. We know it is just a minority but it was these things and the fact that in 20 yards you can smoke in a nice country lane or on a delightful public footpath that made us decide that we would like Lairbeck’s garden to be smoke free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a wonderful Inn to use as your home base to explore the North Lakes Area and within an easy commute to the South Lakes. We arrived frustrated and fatigued from our first experience of driving on the other side of the road (Yanks) from Penrith train station. We were met by Malcolm who offered kind words of understanding, help with the luggage and an assist to Gran's Room #11.

Nice large room, comfy bed, full shower, large bathroom and free WiFi which worked great from our room. Because of the cocktail hour, Malcolm served as our bartender as well in a convivial room designed for guests to talk and share.

We had dinner the first night at the hotel fashioned from chef and co-owner Jennifer (Malcolm wife) and served by their very competent and friendly right hand person--Karen. The dinner clearly dispelled our notion that the Brits can't cook. It was most excellent as was dinner on our 3rd night. Varied menu including traditional English Beef Pie, Lasagna, Beef dishes, veggie dishes, salmon and local fish.

Dinner and full English Breakfasts are served in another delightfully light and airy room which made conversations with our fellow travelers easy. Most of the guests were Brits and Australians, up to the Lake Districts for walks and treks.

The weather was terrible with rain and wind, but we had a delightful time with our 3 hosts and other guests---all of whom were apologizing for the weather and giving us pep talks on driving the narrow roads on the other side. Malcolm produced Google maps for us to get to the nearby villages of Ambleside and Grasmere as well as our trip back to the Penrith Station.

I don't think we've ever had the personal care displayed from Inn owners who along with Karen are very easy to engage in conversation, share a story and a good belly laugh. This is the Inn where you want to stay for your trip to or through the North Lakes.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw looked nice, but our room #11 was really quite well done, including the fashionable window dressings and bed coverings.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope you have forgiven the Lake District for the weather you experienced whilst at Lairbeck. At present we have a mini 'Indian Summer'! Still we know you 'got out there' and experienced some of the breathtaking beauty of the Lakes (even in the rain). Along with the Brits & the Australians you helped keep spirits up back at the hotel and we enjoyed your company, sharing stories and some good laughs. Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Lairbeck equals the standards at some of the best hotels out here in the UAE, excellent!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan002294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHutchinson, Manager at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you very much for the kind review - at present we are enjoying some UAE weather!! Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

What a pleasant surprise when we entered this hotel. We were wary at first when we saw the " 2 Star " rating of the hotel. I think this hotel deserve a five star rating. The rooms are decorated for royalty and are huge in comparison to other hotels we stayed in. The owner and host was exceptionally pleasant and even doubled a tour guide!! Well done and we will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and be back ourselves. 10/10.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangro640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback which is a great encouragement for us.

We shall be delighted to see you at Lairbeck on your next visit to the UK.

Best wishes

Jennifer & Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews