We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy pub - book in advance”
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #16 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Excellent Pub Food in the heart of Keswick. Comfortable restaurant as well as bar food
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very busy pub - book in advance”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

In Keswick for a birthday weekend and decided to eat at the George. The food is simple fare, we had some good and some bad - I ordered the famous pie and was dissapointed and left the pastry but the filling was delicious, however everyone else enjoyed their choices. A very traditional english pub with a good atmosphere and good ales. Friendly staff, dogs allowed, lovely fire to keep you warm on winter evenings. It does get very busy so suggest that you phone ahead and book a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TermiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    471
    139
    46
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“More Good Food at the George”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having visited the George before on a Friday night and not been able to get a table in the restaurant, I booked this time, 10 days in advance. We duly turned up spot on time for our 7.00pm table and were shown to the worst table in the restaurant, right outside the service door, smack in the middle of the "traffic". eh NO! To be fair the very young waiter took one look at my face and rapidly showed us to a much better table, away from the service/kitchen door and out of the traffic (this is a busy place) The food was great, the wine very acceptable but I have to say that this little incident kind of spoiled it for me. It couldn't have been because we weren't local could it? Or to be more charitable, a bit of staff training required!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing pub lunch in a great little town”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stopped off at The George for a bite to eat between shops!!! It was really relaxing and the food was really good. The staff were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. We found a table straight away and the food came out without delay. My husband liked the beer too! Definitely would recommend and go back again. The bar menu was very reasonably priced. Perfect in fact.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkatyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've eaten here a nuber of times while staying in Keswick. Last Friday we arrive aound 5pm - got a seat waited for friends and then ordered food. Our meals were fantastic, I had the gammon, egg, chips and salad. Great food, good portion size and great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hearty pub food at reasonable price”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Good service, varied menu. Food was good and portions large. Good hearty pub food. Very busy, although it was a Saturday evening. No complaints at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaintDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing