We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we didnt eat we just visited and had a drink”
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #15 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Excellent Pub Food in the heart of Keswick. Comfortable restaurant as well as bar food
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“we didnt eat we just visited and had a drink”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a very welcoming pub and restaurant although we did not eat we were made very welcome. The fire is most needed on a cold evening. We always make new friends when we visit here and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsonnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    461
    138
    45
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Just up for a weekend of partying. Wondered around the market at decided on the George for lunch on the recommendation of friends.
Not disappointed , good pub food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stanley339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, busy pub with good atmosphere”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked and just as well as the place was very busy (Friday night). The place had a good atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant where it was less packed than the bar and no people standing over you. The service was prompt and efficient. The food was good. My partner had the half pie and couldn’t eat it all. The pie is full of meat, so very filling but, I’m told, very nice.
If you want to eat here I’d book.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pickworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pie and chips”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had lunch at the pub, opted for 1/2 sized pie and was glad cause the portion was huge. Good atmosphere, friendly service, plenty to eat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lovely old building with a separate dining area. The food was really well cooked & presented. I had the "Englishman's Delight" - chicken stuffed with venison, a real treat!
There was also a good selection of wines. Good service & friendly staff made for a very pleasant evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing