We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best green curry ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House

A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House
Ranked #16 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dayville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best green curry ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our best meal in Keswick, hands down. Also, the best Thai meal I've had -- ever -- including Thai meals in Bangkok, Phuket, London, New York, etc. Incredible perhaps that such high quality Thai cooking can be found in this Lake District B & B restaurant, but the truth is in the tasting. Five stars!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rljuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    43
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shardlow, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Thai in a family setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

What's not to like about A Taste of Thailand? As it is the front room of a B&B you'd expect it to be a rather multifunctional place which, I suppose it is, but the decor is very sympathetically and subtly Thai-themed; so should you be a B&B guest eating your corn flakes of a morning, you wouldn't feel out of place; similarly, an evening guest should feel suitably accommodated.

The food, I have to say, was superb; both in quality and value. Host Richard was on hand to advise on choice of dish and help with how hot the more spicy meals might be. I was glad to take his advice, as when ordering the excellent Gaeng Ped I hinted that I was comfortable with Madras-style heat - "medium, then" was his reply. It was spot on!

The menu consisted of a limited number of dishes, both familiar and new (to us), which gave the kitchen chance to shine rather than being a jack of all trades. Such a shame that we weren't staying longer, as I'd have loved to try more of the menu.

Take your own beer or wine if your inclined to have alcohol, as they don't have a drinks licence. Personally I don't see this as a problem, it just requires a little forethought.

On the whole, we'll definitely visiting again when we return to Keswick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMachins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Friendly welcome, good service and really tasty authentic thai food. Reasonably priced and the ability to take your own drink works well (small corkage charge, which is fine).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fantastic food again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The OH and I ate at shemara again on friday 5th july. Once again the food was fantastic.
We had dropped our wine off earlier in the day for Richard and Fon to put in the fridge for us, and we were shown to our table which was in the window looking over the car park.
We both chose the salmon and prawn fish cakes as our starter. they were gorgeous !!!!
I had the Thai green curry with chicken, Richard asked how i liked it, and i said hot, which i got.
it was exactly how i wanted it. I said to Fon later that her thai green curry is the best that i have eaten anywhere.
Linda loves the Tom Yum goong soup, which she got as her main meal. excellent again !!!

I just wish that we lived nearer, so that we could go more often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kev23a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Have stayed at Shemara guesthouse in Keswick before and been very impressed with the hospitality, rooms and breakfasts on offer. Saw that they now serve Thai meals in the evening so just had to give it a try. Very glad I did!

The food was served promptly and very nicely, and was simply delicious. Overall costs were kept reasonable as you take your own alcohol and just pay a small corkage fee, so much cheaper than buying wine by the glass or bottle in a restaurant.

You can book to eat as a resident or non-resident, so I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry28966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing