We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Keswick”

A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House
Ranked #20 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food in Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Shemara might sound a little odd, being the breakfast room of a B&B, but it's THE place to go in Keswick. How good is it? We went there recently on the Saturday, and went back on the Thursday for our anniversary. The food is quite simply superb with the duck in red curry sauce only narrowly bettered by the yellow curry. Take a tip and only go for the jungle curry if you like your food HOT! Our 10-year-old was also absolutely blown away by the home-made raspberyy sorbet. Amd as it's BYOB, it's extremely good value, too. Seriously, we love this oplace and will be back every time we're in Keswick.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    43
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just back from a week in Keswick. Ate here on advice from sister and Trip reviews - excellent. Friendly welcome and excellent food, superbly cooked and presented. Will be back when next over.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riggers12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Exellent food.great hosts. Will definately go again on our next visit to keswick.No alcohol license but you can take your own and pay corkage.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Riggers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The best Thai food I have tatsed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been following the reviews on Tripadvisor for the last 18 months, intending to pay the Thai restaurant at the Shemara Guesthouse a visit. We finally got round to it on a Friday evening in September and found it outstanding. From the moment we rang the bell, we were made to feel very welcome by the hosts Fon and Richard. We had been a little dubious about how it would feel dining in the front room of a guest house, however it was tastefully decorated and we very soon got talking to another two couples who were also dining there. As there are only around six tables, everything is prepared to individual tastes and we were able to discuss the required spiciness with Richard and Fon before committing ourselves. We had spicy fish cakes, Thai rice balls, Massaman curry and red chicken curry with a fragrant spicy rice. I have eaten in many Thai restaurants and do enjoy that style of cooking, however this was the best I have ever tasted. I am a critical person when it comes to food and am not 'bowled over' easily but I am so jealous this is not closer to home. This will be a definite visit every time we stay in Keswick, provided there is a table available. Many thanks Richard, Fon and your daughter for making us feel so welcome and serving us such wonderful food. Don't be worried about taking a bottle of wine or a few bottles of beer with you as the establishment is not licensed, but this seemed common practice with all dining there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank topcop999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Don't be put off that it is part of a b&b. the food is fantastic and great service. Really glad we tried it thanks to the reviews on trip advisor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bren07England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing