We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Thai food I have tatsed”

A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House
Ranked #22 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
North East England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The best Thai food I have tatsed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been following the reviews on Tripadvisor for the last 18 months, intending to pay the Thai restaurant at the Shemara Guesthouse a visit. We finally got round to it on a Friday evening in September and found it outstanding. From the moment we rang the bell, we were made to feel very welcome by the hosts Fon and Richard. We had been a little dubious about how it would feel dining in the front room of a guest house, however it was tastefully decorated and we very soon got talking to another two couples who were also dining there. As there are only around six tables, everything is prepared to individual tastes and we were able to discuss the required spiciness with Richard and Fon before committing ourselves. We had spicy fish cakes, Thai rice balls, Massaman curry and red chicken curry with a fragrant spicy rice. I have eaten in many Thai restaurants and do enjoy that style of cooking, however this was the best I have ever tasted. I am a critical person when it comes to food and am not 'bowled over' easily but I am so jealous this is not closer to home. This will be a definite visit every time we stay in Keswick, provided there is a table available. Many thanks Richard, Fon and your daughter for making us feel so welcome and serving us such wonderful food. Don't be worried about taking a bottle of wine or a few bottles of beer with you as the establishment is not licensed, but this seemed common practice with all dining there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank topcop999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    43
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Don't be put off that it is part of a b&b. the food is fantastic and great service. Really glad we tried it thanks to the reviews on trip advisor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bren07England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

An absolutely top class Thai meal made and served by a very friendly family. Everything was beautifully presented and bursting with flavour. We had the Thai fishcakes, followed by one of the menu specials - succulent king prawns in a tamarind sauce. We also had a fabulous beef fillet green curry. They offer to make it as hot or mild as you like. Though I was full I couldn't resist the Thai dessert of rice balls filled with peanuts and red bean curd. The whole meal was excellent value and with the BYO wine/beer (corkage £3, beer 75p) a very inexpensive night out. I would have no doubt in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sally223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having dined here on serveral occasions i have found the staff/owner to be very friendly and attentive and the food is simply excellent

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nickolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had our meal here to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we would just like to say have fab the food was. It was the first time we have tried Thai food and we were definately not disappointed. The menu had something to suit everyone. My husband doesnt like garlic so Fon was able to cook his meal without because it is cooked fresh for you which is excellent for us.
Just like to say thanks again for our lovely meal and stay at the Shemara B & B

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 979Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to A Taste of Thailand Restaurant at Shemara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing