We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
Ranked #22 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

great little pub with loads of atmosphere, very charming and got the ghoulash which was nice
we all ways make a point of a couple of drinks in here we we visit keswick

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank geordiedaveDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    600
    184
    83
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best pub in Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have been holidaying in Keswick for many years and we always frequent the Dog and Gun, this is the first year that we have tried the Goulash and we really enjoyed it especially the vegetarian one formyself as a none meat eater, We agree with the person that said that the Old Peculiar was not good on the 9th July but it was excellent all the other times that we had it on our 2 weeks holiday although we have just returned home today we are already looking forward to returning in September

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jarvise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
“Great Stop for Ale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nice pub in the central market area of Keswick. It was recommended as the CAMRA recognized pub for real ale in town. We were not disappointed. The staff was helpful, the selection of local ales excellent, and the atmosphere was unique and comfortable. If we return to Keswick we will return to the Dog and Gun.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Crackin' Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Love this pub. Visit Keswick at least once a year and the Dog gets plenty of visits during my stay. The goulash is fantastic and well with a try. Due to its popularity it can sometimes be difficult to get a table but you generally get one before too long.

One small negative is that on one of our visits the Old Peculiar was off. Not a major issue for me as these things happen, and is certainly not indicative of previous visits. What's more, there was certainly no issue from the bar staff when it was pointed out, and there were a lot of alternatives available.

Give this place a go, you won't regret it

Helpful?
Thank MrFrontispiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent old style pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'd like the atmosphere and the real ale. I didn't try the food but it looked good and the portions were on the generous side.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shauny_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing