We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the bother.... For me.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
Ranked #21 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the bother.... For me.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I really want to love this place given it's cult following for its Goulash but I just can't do it. It's "totally dog friendly" which is fantastic, but also a curse in its own way. The venue is far too small and far too oversubscribed. Trying to get a table to eat is an unpleasant experience most of the time. The Goulash is different but personally I'm not a big enough fan of it to go through the pain of trying to get in/seated more than once per trip.

The staff do a very good job and smile/remain pleasant in face of significant adversity, massively busy all the time and running the gauntlet trying to deliver food amongst the scrum of people drinking and hawking for tables.

Try it, it's worth it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    612
    191
    85
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One trick pony? ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the Dog & Gun several times now, mainly because it claims to be the most dog friendly pub in Keswick. It is dog friendly, even sells doggy bags for your furry friends, but many pubs in Keswick are dog friendly. On first visit we tried their Goulash which is the speciality, and it is great. Since then my wife has stuck to the Goulash whereas I have tried different things off the menu. Every time I have been disappointed. If you order the lasagne you will need a csi team to find your meat. It was like one of those 99p lasagne meals you get at the supermarket. If you go, and I do still recommend it, stick to the Goulash...

Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaving but worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had to stand and wait for a table but well worth it. Took our cocker spaniel with us and he was mode very welcome with a doggy bag of treats! We had the famous goulash..mmmmmmm and went well with local Cumbrian ales! Try it you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alinicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closing early”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Normally a regular to the dog & gun on my visits to Keswick, but on Christmas Eve went for a few drinks and was told on arrival we were closed and last orders called it was 2145 hrs. Is it a pub?!
This is not first time we have had this with this pub they have been rude asking us to leave a 2302 hrs when served drinks just before 2300 hrs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly traditional pub with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Dog friendly and we have dogs so it's great. We all ate goulash which is their house speciality and it was delicious. The place is possibly not for you if you don't like dogs but we think it's great. You can even buy a doggie goodie bag for your pooch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing