We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy pub”
Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
Ranked #21 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“cosy pub”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely cosy pub but need to be in competitive mood to get a table if you want dinner.
We were lucky enough to nab a table after a couple of drinks at the bar and hovering near a table that had nearly finished... :)

Goulash was delicious and good selection of beers...
Lovely after a day walking in the rain.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    653
    205
    100
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Busy - and no wonder”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited pub for first time - on recommendation - and wasn't disappointed. Good, old fashioned pub and the goulash - fantastic. Good range of beers, reasonable prices but getting a seat can be difficult.
Only warning - Don't go there if you don't like dogs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lochnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Busy”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good traditional pub. If you have a dog then this is the place to go . Very busy for food and you cannot book

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank clairmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Goulash”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Yes they are known for their goulash and my oh my that reputation is very just! It was a very busy Friday night and the place was rammed. We were very lucky to get a table, we have visited before and not managed to get a table before food service ended. So we were very determined to get a table this time. Food was ordered at the bar the wait was acceptable and when the goulash came it was every bit as good as I expected.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathyskelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“As good as the reviews suggest”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful, cosy pub. Perfect after a day walking. The menu is refreshingly simple and focused on great food. Perfect evening

Helpful?
Thank Naomi21w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing