We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungarian Goulash”
Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
Ranked #22 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
520 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Hungarian Goulash”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Dog and Gun is a really good pub with close links to the mountain rescue team. The staff are friendly and we really enjoyed the Halloween night they did. The Hungarian Goulash is superb and we managed to feed 2 adults and 2 children with just 2 portions. The meat was nice and it came with plenty of garlic bread

Only drawback is they don't really do much in the way of deserts

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    636
    201
    94
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Both human and dog friendly!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wot a refreshing change to be in a pub serving excellent food not penalising the animal lovers amongst us!A superb range of ales on offer but the food was brill try the goulash it was amazing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Pub!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a great afternoon in here. Totally unaffected pub, lively atmosphere, added to by the dogs in attendance.

Staff were good and we sampled the "famous" Goulash and we were not disappointed. If we come to Keswick again, this will be the place to visit first.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patt2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have 2 shih tzus. We came across this dog friendly pub by chance when visiting Keswick. The food was fab. We will definately return

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GIZMO1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Goulash and Ghosts”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The goulash is still great (I can still manage a large), a wide range of local ales and as it was halloween ghosts and ghouls everywhere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADCottenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing