We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
Ranked #21 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We absolutly loved this pub, it has a great atomosphere & is traditional. Weekly quiz night is great fun & the beer is good. The Dog & Gun is one of the best dog friendly pubs in Keswick.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tractorgirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    612
    191
    85
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful find on a cold day, try the Goulash!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was the first time we had tried to get in to the Dog and Gun and we were very lucky to get a table, they are like gold dust. Fantastic range of real ales and a huge bowl of warming goulash - just what you need on a cold day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandJMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dog Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from a short break in Keswick where we made a point of visiting the Dog and Gun again after eating here back in August. This time we brought our son as well as our dog who was in his element ! Great food although can anyone really see past the goulash ?!? Great friendly atmosphere with a good selection of ales. We will be back !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loweythebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We found this place when looking for a pub that was dog friendly and were not disappointed! The pub was lovely, very central and food and service was great. Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngeLP999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pub and grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved it in the forever busy Dog and Gun it was one of our favourite pubs whilst on holiday in Keswick. The tables were like gold dust and you can see why as it has a fantastic atmosphere bustling with people and dogs and friendly staff. It has a good range of beers at a reasonable price for the area and best of all the famous Goulash is a must. Well worth a visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank claires79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing