We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pitcairn House
Nearby Hotels
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$268
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$156
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$249
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveler rating
556
35
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
35
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheather stevefeature roomb btown centregreat hostshome from homefelt like homemountain festivala lovely staypoached eggslovely couplebreakfast was deliciousfamily roomlovely housecomfy bedfeel very welcomedrying room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 594 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2011

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, really pleased with cleanliness and decor of the rooms and restaurant area,great touches in room like hairdryer and toiletries, brilliant location a two minuete walk to local town centre which has great shops and public houses,surrounded by endless walks and great views, a lovely breakfast served in the morning, loved meeting poppy and daisey (the cats) ,
great stay would definately stay again and keswick is a lovely place too with lots of character

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabeddows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed at Pitcairn House for 3 nights over October half term. We had originally enquired at Pitcairn House but unfortunately they had no rooms available for dogs so we booked elsewhere. Unfortunately, our other booking fell through and the B & B we booked arranged for us to stay at Pitcairn House, but failed to tell them that we had a dog!

When we arrived at Pitcairn, Heather and Steve remembered us from our initial enquiry, and although the room was not one of their usual dog rooms, they allowed us to stay, with dog, without any hesitation. We found that throughout our stay they continued to go out of their way to do whatever they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, which was amazing. They were happy to recommend walks and places to eat - including those that were dog friendly, which was very helpful. They took our coats/boots after wet walks and put them into a separate room for drying so that they weren't in our room.

This is a very warm and welcoming, family-run guest house, with an outstanding service, and after our 3 nights, we felt as though we were part of the family. Heather and Steve are dog (and cats) lovers and very willing to accommodate (especially Springer Spaniels), as best they can.

The guest house is in an ideal location in Keswick. It is on a quiet residential street, less than 5 minutes walk from Keswick centre. The interior is stylish and warm.
Without any hesitation, we will book Pitcairn House on our next trip to Keswick and would most certainly recommend again and again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottingham1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

From the first greeting at Pitcairn House the owners could not have done enough for us. The location was excellent only a minute walk into town. The breakfast was perfect, full english, fruit, cereal and yogurts. The B&B was all you could ask for in a nice weekend away like we had. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley_Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I stayed at Pitcairn House with my Girlfriend on the 19th November 2010 and it was quite possibly the greatest Bed and Breakfast we've ever stayed in. We Travel alot and love to explore the country side and have been trying to find a B&B where we feel at home, allowing us to use it as a sort of base camp each time we visit the Lake District. Out of all the B&Bs we've been to this year, Pitcairn House definatly rules them all. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by the family who ran it, they were keen to get to know us and tell us abit about them selves. They recommended a Great pub for us to go to for our tea, of which we did and the food was out of this world. Their notice board was up to date; packed with all the local events taking place, we wathced the christmas lights being turned on and shopped a christmas market, which we wouldn't have known about had it not been for the information on the notice board. The room we were in was brilliant, comfy bed, lovely warm shower, we felt so cozy snuggled up in there. We had a great view of the local countryside and it was quiet and peaceful; no outside noise. Breakfast was filling, plentiful portions leaving you well fed ready for the day ahead of you. If you're looking for a home from home in Keswick for the night, this is definatly the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandKim2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at Pitcairn house for 2 nights. We were greeted by Steve and shown to our room. It was on the small side but was cosy, clean, beautifully decorated and furnished and warm.
The breakfast was freshly cooked and the best I've had in the Lakes.
I've been to the Lakes a number of times and this was easily the best place I've stayed and I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs9422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews