We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Ranked #10 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

we stayed for 2 days...Steve and heather were very welcoming..made us feel right at home...lovely guest house ...nice rooms with a great view...breakfast was excellent..off road parking...would stay again and recommend...Steve and Julie...Liverpool

Room Tip: room 3 has great views of latrigg and skiddaw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
It is good to know that you both felt so at home here as that is what we try to achieve in our guest house, a home away from home. Thank you for adding such a lovely review and we look forwarding to seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    30
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
292
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Pitcairn House and it was very clean, comfortable and homely, the hosts were lovely and the two cats, poppy and holly a great entertainment. All in all excellent, we would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lotte39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding our cleanliness and hospitality are much appreciated and it is good to see that Poppy and Holly are starting to feature in our guest reviews too.
We look forward to seeing you at Pitcairn House again soon

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We are a family of three, our daughter is 10 years old. We were offered tea on arrival and it was clear help would be given whenever we might need it. The accommodation was warm, the atmosphere child friendly and informal. It contributed a great deal to our visit, despite poor weather conditions. We are regular visitors to the Lakes but will definitely seek out this venue for future trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are pleased your family enjoyed their stay with us despite the weather. Although we can guarantee the hospitality afraid the weather is as you find it and they say that if we did not have the rain there would be no lakes.
We do hope that if you return there will be a little more sunshine than last time but at least we can assure you of another pleasant stay here at Pitcairn House.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had travelled as a couple for a weekend to Keswick to explore the Derwentwater lake and nearby places. Our stay was made better by Pitcairn house and its wonderful hosts Steve and Heather. Breakfast was very filling, the rooms were nice and cozy. They have all varieties of rooms ranging from the economical attic rooms with separate facilities to family rooms and big bedrooms with ensuite toilets.The hosts were very warm and friendly and helped us choose our walking trip and local trips.
If you like cats, you will love the two fluffy balls which keep running around the house !
Heather provided us with the Derwentwater launch tickets at a cheaper rate than the counter.
Location of the B & B is the best..its a 3-4 minute walk to the town centre with lots of cafes and eating joints.
Our overall experience of Pitcairn house was very good and we would definitely recommend it to everyone and would love to come back again!

Room Tip: If you want a view, choose the rooms on the second floor upwards. If you want an economical room, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrav1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the comprehensive review and we are very pleased by all your positive comments. The early morning photographs of us were a little unexpected especially when we saw you had posted onto Trip Advisor but made us chuckle. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider a return visit and sample one of our other rooms.
We look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Kind regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second stay at Pitcairn House and won't be our last. It is a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Keswick so is ideally located to the local eateries and the lake. You will get the warmest welcome from Heather and Steve without them being intrusive, they really make you feel at ease and at home. The rooms are beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and have lots of little thoughtful extras which make your stay special. The breakfast is superb, excellent quality food and choice. Heather and Steve have a good knowledge of the area and walks and were even so kind to print off a walk for us and the weather forecast too. So look no further and book your room !!!! Thankyou Heather and Steve.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
It was very pleasing to read your lovely review and very heart warming for us to realize how much our hospitality is appreciated. We aim to make all our guest feel at home and so glad you felt that way while staying here. It is also satisfying when guests notice our high standards of cleanliness as well as the little extras we provide. Many of our guests comment on the breakfast and we try to source as much as we can locally with our bacon and sausages coming from the butchers in Keswick. We hope you come and enjoy another stay with us here at Pitcairn House soon.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This was out second stay at the Pitcairn... There are a huge amount of hotels and bed& breakfast establishments in Keswick and if your looking for charming, clean and well furnished, this is the place to go... Really looking forward to my next stay ... Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalsallNiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are so pleased you had another enjoyable stay with us and thank you for all your positive comments. It means a lot to us when guests notice the attention to detail and effort we put in to ensuing everyone has a comfortable and memorable visit. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

There are an inordinate number of guest houses in Keswick, you could spend many hours looking for the right one, let me save you the effort: It is this one!
The house is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and furnished and the breakfasts are first class.

The friendliest of welcomes from Steve and Heather who made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Including giving a lift to collect our car, heating our stew and providing maps and walking guidance.
Easy access to the town and a plethora of local information to ensure you get the best from the town and avoid any potential disappointments.
Great value for money, I would not hesitate to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hotrat-one-Hundred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Wow, what a delightful review. It was extremely gratifying for us to read all your lovely comments and thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hospitality and cleanliness. We very much appreciate you sharing the experience of your visit as we know many of our guests refer to reviews like yours when deciding on which accommodation to choose. As more guest find us and submit comments like yours we hope it will assist our rise up the Trip Advisor ladder.

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this review and we hope we see you at Pitcairn House again soon.

Kindest regards Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#5 of 175 in Keswick
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Property: Pitcairn House
Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is a traditional slate built, Victorian Guest House conveniently situated within a 2 minute walk of Keswick. All rooms are centrally heated, pleasantly decorated and comfortably furnished with modern facilities including flat screen TV's, hospitality trays, hair dryers, fluffy towels, toiletries and other essentials. The whole area is surrounded by stunning mountains and picturesque fell plus the shores of Derwentwater lake are but a 10 minutes stroll away. Other local attractions such as the popular Theatre by the Lake, parks, museum, cinema, pitch and put, pleasure boats and launches are also nearby. There is a small private car park at the rear of the house with anchor points for m/cycles, a drying room and free connection to BT Superfast WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you into the warm, friendly atmosphere of our home soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing