We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #53 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2014

First went years ago on recommendation from Keswick tourist board a wonderful place to stay on your own or with family or friends.The food is great too.Its spotlessly clean.Ideal for walkers as easy access to the fells.Also great shops and an excellent chinese in town.

Room Tip: Any room good.Lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 96 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

My friend and I have been treating ourselves to a weekend in Keswick every March since 2011 and it is always Rivendell we stay in. It came highly recommended by my friend as she had stayed here before and no wonder. The location is perfectly situated for all amenities in Keswick and it is even possible to park in the street outside, a real advantage in such a busy place. We always manage to get a single room each with one being en-suite on the top floor and one near a shared bathroom on the second. This room is quite small but both are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is excellent, with cereals, etc, to help yourself to and the hot breakfast is freshly cooked to order. My friend is vegetarian and they always ensure she has vegetarian sausages for the full English!

As others have remarked, you can be certain of a warm welcome from the owners and valuable advice about local sights, walks, pubs and restaurants. We intend to return next year and wouldn't want to book antwhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great guest house room was good lovely and clean friendly and very helpful dog friendly and he got a sausage for breakfast ours was lovely as well certainly would recommend to any one staying in keswick

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Border999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Pat and Linda for a really friendly, welcoming stay. This is the nicest bed and breakfast we've stayed at in Keswick, and we've stayed at a lot of them over the years. Rivendell is highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me and my great mate Mike stay here every time we come to Keswick. Fantastic value for money and bonus family welcome. What Pat doesn't know about the local area is probably not worth knowing. Linda's cheeky friendliness is contagious and you can find yourself wandering into unearthed memories with affable ease (we both found out today we had been to the same Tourists concert in Bridlington Spa in 1979...I have no idea how we ended up talking about that but there you go). Anyway on top of that she can certainly cook a bit too and the breakfast is just marvellous. June keeps the two of them in order and quite frankly I have no idea why anyone would go anywhere else. Get yourselves there before they leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked to stay at Rivendell for two nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night. Pat and Linda were really welcoming and gave us some good tips on where to eat, drink and go for walks. We took our dog with us and he was also well looked after with an extra sausage cooked for him at breakfast. We will definitely be staying again in the future.

Mr and Mrs Kelly

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen-and-Leane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Let down by B&B we happened upon Rivendell by chance and were so glad we did. Having stayed in several B&BS in the past this is the best we have found and will only return to this one in the future. Great welcome, great room and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 23 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $120 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a lovely victorian town house, with seven letting rooms. A large and light dining room. We have a drying room which doubles up as storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing