We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore the lakes 10 minute walk into Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #52 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay at this lovely guest house. Nice and quiet but only a ten minute stroll into Keswick town,Derwent water is also a local walk,which comprises a delightful little theatre. Good pubs and restaurants some with entertainment. Just cant guarantee the weather.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilfiejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Rivendell Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

Having stopped in many Lake District B&B's this one outshines the lot. Dog friendly and always a great place to stay. Well informed owners who are always happy to help you enjoy your stay and offer advise for things to do or walks to go on.

Gareth & Hilary.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghcoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We've been using Rivendell as a base for mountain biking for several years. Its very central, once the car is parked that's it till you leave. Parking is 'on street' - it's busy, but we've never failed to find a place close to the house.
Biking by day, a five minute walk to the town centre for good food and a few beers at night - what more can you ask for.
We go to many places, but alway look forward to returning to Rivendell, we have a soft spot for Rivendell and Keswick that'll be there for life.
Pat, Linda and June are great, as are the breakfasts, ideal after a night on the town.

Room Tip: They're all good
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyg117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

If you are looking for a warm welcome, a breakfast that's second to none and great value for money in Keswick, look no further than Rivendell. Pat, Linda, June (& Holly the spaniel!) really do make this a home-from-home. I've stayed at Rivendell several times over the last 5 years and honestly can not find fault. I always feel like an old friend returning! Go on, give them a try. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghAndyWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed here on countless seperate occasions, been with friends, wife, daughter and even just the dog of which was packed up with and extra sausage. Excelent clean warm rooms and a lovely breakfast served fast and friendly. Also if you need any advise on the area the owners are only to pleased to help.

Room Tip: ask for room 3 on the first floor, spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darren197a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have stayed at Rivendell in the past and it is always a very friendly, clean place in a great location with a short walk into town. The breakfast is superb with a great choice. Help is always at hand for advice on walking and cycling. In all a very good value and great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegypsyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed with 12 friends on walking trip. We have stayed im any hotels in Lake district over past ten years and this was definitely the cleanest, and friendliest. OK, so the rooms weren't all en suite but this was also the case in umore expensive places like Old Dungeon Ghyll and Wasdale Inn. Very welcoming and very helpful proprietors. Rooms spotless and breakfast very good. Close to centre of Keswick. We didn't really need any more. We will definitely return next year. A real find. Stan Johnston

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#87 of 189 in Keswick
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#105 of 189 in Keswick
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#26 of 189 in Keswick
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#24 of 189 in Keswick
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#49 of 189 in Keswick
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Address: 23 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $67 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell is a lovely victorian town house, with seven letting rooms. A large and light dining room. We have a drying room which doubles up as storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing