We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection - its the only word to describe Lakeside”
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #12 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is an absolute gem of a hotel. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout; the standards of cleanliness are faultless.

The service provided is very personal and caring without being overdone. All of the staff are all unfailingly cheerful, helpful and available whenever needed.

The breakfast was fabulous, locally sourced and beautifully prepared and presented.

I could not recommend Lakeside House highly enough, not only is it perfect in every way, it is also perfectly situated. Just a very short walk to the lake and the town centre, within easy reach of all the local attractions and many of the excellent restaurants Keswick has to offer.

This is truly a 5 star hotel and we will definitely return and have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 618 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

Just back from my second stay at Lakeside House and it gets better and better. The rooms are just gorgeous and easily compare to many of the top hotels I've stayed in around the US and the Caribbean. Everything is beautifully done, the service id welcoming and friendly and the views from rooms 15 and 16 just can't be beaten. The fact that we choose to stay here and not at my girlfriend's place who lives in Keswick for a special weekend should say it all.

Pete has set the standard by which others hotels should be judged. Anthony

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth0ny1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Management representative at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2010

Thank you for such a great review, it is always a pleasure to welcome guests back, we take it as a great compliment. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
All the staff at LakeSide House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in mid August,wife &2 friends.The owner and his staff were first class from the moment of our booking and throughout our stay.We stayed in rooms 2&3 which overlook the pitch &put course towards the lake.These are wonderful rooms with first class fittings & fixtures,new and clean fluffy towels,crisp bedding etc.you cannot fault any area.I hope the new venture takes off and I have passed on the details of the Hotel to Friends.Will stay again without doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petefm10, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. As a new business we are aiming to become the chosen place to stay in Keswick and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I almost hate to give such a good review as it will probably be booked the next time we want to visit! But, we had a wonderful stay at Lakeside House over the busy bank holiday weekend. We were traveling with a 3-year-old and a baby and felt very welcomed. We stayed in Room 1 - which had a semi-private room for the kids (single bed and a travel cot provided - and their own tv too) and a great seating area at the window with beautiful trees as well as some people watching. The location was superb - a few minutes in either direction to the lake or to town. The room was nicely furnished, very clean, and very big. I liked the biscuits and coffee service provided too. The staff were very nice. The breakfast was good - my son can vouch for the porridge, which he had every day. Poached eggs on buttered crumpets were my favorite. The B&B has some walking leaflets and books that you can review - and they will make copies of the ones you want to do. I hope to plan a return visit soon! Favorite places to eat in Keswick are the Village Peddlar, the Dog and Gun, and the cafe at the top of the George Fisher store - plus good to know for next time that you can hire kid-carrying backpacks and hiking boots there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowtulip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petefm10, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Good afternoon, just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about ourselves and also what this fantastic area has to offer. We look foward to your return visit and welcoming you back to LakeSide House.
Kind Regards
All Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We just returned from a two week tour of Great Britain with a three night stay at the Lakeside House. It was BY FAR the best B&B we stayed in, probably ever! The house has undergone a complete renovation and is so well done. Everything from the bedding and towels and soaps to the breakfast is top quality. The staff is very helpful, especially for hiking questions..much more than the tourist office! The view from the bed of our room (#16)was unbelievable. They were very welcoming to our three year old son as well. I have a feeling this B&B will soon be bustling with patrons as the word gets out about how great it really is. You will not be dissapointed in your stay. Thanks for a great stay, Lakeside House!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsr0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petefm10, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

We just wanted to thank you for taking time out from your day to write such a positive review about LakeSide House. We aim to cater for families, couples, walking groups and individuals alike and as such your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit to LakeSide House, Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Like other reviewers here, myself and family had a wonderful 3 nights at LakeSide House, and I can't imagine you would find anything more comfortable or relaxing in Keswick or the surrounding area. The location is truly excellent - a quiet cul-de-sac from where it is a minute walk one way into the town centre of Keswick, or a two-minute walk the other direction to the Derwentwater lakeside. But it is the interior decor and friendliness of staff which really deserve the accolades. Bedrooms and public areas are beautifully clean and modern with lovely tasteful artwork, furniture, carpets, curtains and bed covers. Bathrooms are also slick and modern with power showers and heated towel rails. Breakfast is simple but enjoyable and has the obligatory range of cereals and mueslis to full cooked English breakfast, all served in a contemporary bistro-style dining area with piped music. The staff are always available and helpful and have time for their customers rather than being just a face behind a desk, and this creates a great atmosphere at LakeSide House which complements the fresh styling of the interior. Following a very favourable review in The Times recently and the great reviews on Trip Advisor, my only problem with LakeSide House is that it is going to be increasing difficult to book when we decide to return again in the coming years.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petefm10, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Firstly, apologies for the delay in responding to your recent review, and secondly thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive things about LakeSide House and what we offer here. We aim to offer the highest levels of accommodation and customer service and hope that this comes through to our guests, your review tells us we are definitely heading in the right direction. We look forward to your return visit to LakeSide House, Keswick and thank you again,
Kind Regards
All Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Peter and his staff went the extra mile to ensure our weekend was faultless I would not change my 50th birthday celebration in any way. Every thing was perfect in every way The breakfast was of a 5 star hotel standard, very special
We will definitely be returning to the Lakeside House very soon

Paul & Denise Elliott

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wobblypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petefm10, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Denise and Paul - We all enjoyed you and the group staying here at Lakeside House. I know how much it meant for you to have a special weekend and I'm really pleased we contributed. Enjoy the rest of your birthday celebrations and it will be a pleasure to see you and the group back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#10 of 17 in Keswick
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $110 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing