We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside House Bed & Breakfast”
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #12 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked though Travel Republic and at a lower rate , so were assigned to room 11, up 2 flights of stairs, at the back of the house. However, the room was of an excellent standard, having been recently refurbished.
The weather was poor, clouds hanging over the hills; maybe the reason why the Internet didn't work in our room, but it did work close to reception. Our mobile Internet didn't work either on our Vodafone network.
We arrived at 5pm on a Saturday and managed to park outside, so were able to unload. We were given a free parking permit, for one of the 2 car parks, the Town Car park/ or the Theatre By the Lake car park. Parking outside Lakeside House is not permitted between the hours of 10am - 4pm during the summer, between Easter - end of October.
Breakfast was cooked to order and there was plenty of choice. We were told that there were plenty of pubs in the town for evening meals. We tried the 'Dog and Gun,' on Saturday night and made our way to the only vacant table. It was here that I stepped on a dog, who was partially under a table. I'm not sure who was more shocked. We had an excellent 2 course Sunday Lunch at the Skiddaw Hotel in the town centre.
Lakeside House was close to the park and a 5 minute walk away from Derwentwater and the Theatre on the Lake. This was important to us as my husband was singing at the Theatre on Sunday evening.
We had a good stay; a shame about the weather.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upwarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a detailed and thorough review of your stay at LakeSide House. At the time of your booking you chose a standard room of which we have two available, and indeed, Room 11 is on the second floor. During the extensive refurbishment we did look at the possibility of installing a lift and disabled access facilities but due to the somewhat tight planning restrictions imposed in this area it wasnt possible. All our floors are divided into eight shallow stairs and then a half landing to make it less of a "hike" to the top floor after a days fell bashing. With regards to the WiFi this is something we are working on at present, and are in talks at present with a local IT company who are looking at options available to us. We have a computer set up for guests to use the internet during their holiday should they require it on the first landing which has a strong signal but appreciate that some guests do require more frequent internet access. Your assessment of the parking is accurate and to summarise, one of the downfalls of such a popular place as Keswick undoubtedly is, is that parking is something of a challenge, one which we have overcome with the issue of parking permits for all of our guests to ensure easy and free parking for the duration of their stay. The Dog and Gun has been voted as the most dog friendly pub in the UK and should a dog ever be unfortunate enough to be stepped on, this is the place it is most likely to happen. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and will hopefully welcome you back to LakeSide House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 618 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in room number 2, which was exactly as described. A beautiful large room with wonderful views. It was tastefully furnished and the bed was so comfortable.
Of the boutique hotels we have stayed in this was the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We have tried with our virtual tour feature on our website to show guests each room before they book so we are pleased that the description matches up to the real thing. We are often complimented on our beds being comfortable, that and being in such a quiet yet central part of Keswick ensure that you are fully rested for whatever you choose to do during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lakeside House is superb, a fitting 2nd stage to our honeymoon, full credit to Peter for running an excellent establishment. We stayed in Room No.2, very spacious with a beautiful view of Causey Pike that is etched in my memory! Very close to all amenities in the town itself too so all in all, top marks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, its always important to us that guests enjoy their stay but even more so when its such a special occasion. Room 2 is certainly a popular room for special occasions due to its size and position. Thank you again and best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from our first stay at Lakeside House and already booked for next year. Booked room 3 and were not disappointed, with beautiful views across to the fells. All rooms are tastefully decorated and it is clear that a lot of thought has gone into the design of the hotel. Breakfast was freshly cooked, tasty and varied . Staff are attentive but not intrusive. All in all a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at LakeSide House, we are delighted we were your choice for accommodation. Its always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to recommend us to others so thank you very much indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights last weekend 1st /2nd June. Our first stay in the Lake District and just picked the Lakeside House by chance, and glad we did.
Location was great, short walk from the town, Theatre and Lake.
On arrival found we had been upgraded, with a fantastic view, at no extra cost. The room was decorated to a very high standard.
Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order, with the staff being warm and friendly.
We will be returning to the Lake District again, with the Lakeside House top of our list.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your tour of the UK to leave a review it is greatly appreciated. Where possible we always try and upgrade our guests and are pleased that you were able to enjoy the views from Room 9 with the fantastic weather you brought over with you :-). Thank you again for staying with us and we will look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Lakeside House in early May (found it by chance) and I am so glad I did! The hotel is pristine - cleaner than anywhere I have ever stayed. It is completely updated with a modern bathroom and stylish decor. Breakfast was delicious - everything fresh and lots of choices. I loved the drying room for wet boots.
The view of the park and mountains is amazing. The hotel has an excellent location just steps from the lake and steps from the town with restaurants and shopping less than a 5 minute walk.
Best of all, Peter and Christine made me feel very welcome. They offered thoughts on walks to take, where to eat and all the details on transportation.
I will definitely return to the Lake District - specifically Keswick - and to Lakeside House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljb_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review and for such positive comments. I have passed on your feedback to the staff who are always pleased to hear that their hard work is being well received. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our 2 night stay here could not have been better. We had a beautiful room (number 2 I think) which had amazing views. Breakfast was lovely. The location is brilliant. Short walk to the town, the lake and the Theatre on the Lake. I highly recommend Lake View.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzydundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay - Room 2 is a beautiful room and with its dual aspect there's always something to see!
Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $110 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing