We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #12 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night break at this hotel and we both really loved it. The hotel is of a very high standard and the room we were allocated had a fantastic view over the mountains and park. The rooms were decorated individually to a very high standard and the shower room, although small was of a very high standard, with lovely white fluffy towels and good toiletries - water was always hot. Free Wi-Fi in rooms as well as a flat screen tv and ipod dock. Tea and coffee facilities and the option to buy a bottle of wine to drink in the room was available from reception. The breakfasts were yummy and freshly cooked and prepared. A particular favourite was the Egg Benedict and the fresh fruit salad and yogurt. A drying room is available and a parking permit for the local car parks as parking outside is only allowed from 4pm - 10am. Close to various different places to eat, shops, lake and theatre - a perfect spot. All staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The walking opportunities in the local vicinity are endless. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Delux rooms facing the mountains and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the great and comprehensive review. We aim to make everyone's stay special and comfy beds, fluffy towels and great breakfasts are all part of that - and it's nice to know it's appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future - just give us a call.
Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
359
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We took a 2-night break at Lake Side House. The accommodation was excellent, beautifully furnished with a contemporary style in a traditional setting. Breakfast was quality fare. The location was ideal for walking into the town centre and for easy access to a range of dining places. It was also very near to the Theatre by the Lake, so very convenient to walk along to an evening performance. Proprieters couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Absolutely top marks, thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park with great views to the hills beyond are wonderfully well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BScumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and the top marks! As you said, we are in an ideal location, with the town and lake very close by - The Theatre by the Lake is just a few minutes walk and there is something for everyone on all year round so we hope you will visit them, and us, again in the future.
Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights and had the family room (with bath). The breakfast was lovely and the decor was very impressive. The staff were very friendly and we would definitely return for another visit. It is close to the town as well and next to the lake for a nice lake walk

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUISE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review, and we are glad to hear you wish to visit again. There is lots to do right on our doorstep as you discovered, and we are a great base for exploring further afield. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned today from what can only be describe as the most relaxing and enjoyable short break!
We stayed in room 15 which had stunning views and lots of character. The beams are low and at 6ft1" I had to mind my head but it was worth every moment.

The location is BRILLIANT just a stroll to the centre where lovely restaurants can be found, but its tucked away in such a peaceful setting!

It is expensive but well worth the money and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. You are right, Room 15 has the most spectacular views in the house, we hope you come back soon to enjoy them again! Just give us a call for the best deal.
Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent two nights at Lakeside, and was the second time we have stayed there. This is an excellent place with very friendly and helpful staff. We had e-mailed them to ask if they could recommend somewhere to eat. They recommended Morrells, and ever reserved a table for us.
Would have no hesitation in recommending Lakeside to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place the review, it is always good to see familiar faces! We are happy to recommend restaurants and make reservations any time, Morrells doesn't disappoint and is right on our doorstep. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of March 2013 with my family of 4. We were given a room on the top floor which was split into 2 bedrooms. Peter, the innkeeper showed us to our room. He was very helpful throughout our stay. The room was extremely clean with very well maintained furniture. It exuded a very warm and cosy ambience. The only slight complaint we had was the doorway to one of the bedroom was exceptionally low. According to Peter, it was the beam of the building structure and hence, cannot be modified. Full breakfast was provided where the cold items were displayed buffet style but the hot items were specially prepared upon order which ensured that they were served hot.

The location of the hotel is perfect. The town center is less than 50m to the left but away from the noise. The lake and scenery, which is one of the most beautiful sights we have ever seen, lies to the right of the hotel, all within walking distance.

We will come back to Lakeside district during spring or autumn for a different scenery and environment and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review, we are glad you wish to return. The changing colours of autumn in Keswick give some of the most beautiful views, we hope to see you then.
Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at LakeSide House! For a birthday treat, my boyfriend brought me on a surprise trip to Keswick and I was incredibly spoilled with his choice of B&B. The closest one to Derwent water had outstanding views of the lake district peaks. 2 minutes walk to the lake, 2 minutes walk to the town, what more could you need?! We both had a very good nights sleep followed by a very yummy breakfast. I'm so glad that we stumbled across this little gem of a place and will definitely look there first every time we are going for a stay in the lakes. We LOVED IT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your birthday treat! Thank you for your kind words and promise to return - there is a lot more for you to enjoy here (and the scenery never fails to impress at any time of year). We hope to see you again soon - just ring us for the best deal.

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Property: LakeSide House
Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing