We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a break”
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #12 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very warm welcome to this pretty guest house. Ideally situated close to the town and lake. Walking distance to some very good eating places. Spotlessly clean in all areas of the guest house. Staff always willing to help in any way. Views from the twin room across towards Cat Bells very impressive. Would go back and recommend this to my friends and family. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the hills have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiloo2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor; we are so pleased you had such a good stay with us. We have many excellent eating places in Keswick offering a great variety of types of cuisine, and we only recommend those that have had good reports from our guests. We are very happy to organise restaurant reservations in advance, one less thing to have to think about on arrival. We hope to see you again in the future – thanks again.
Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 618 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here last weekend and was really impressed. Huge room, fantastic bed and pillows - everything's spotlessly clean (my wife is very fussy!) Very comfortable all round. Very central just a short walk into town and right next to the park and just a gentle stroll to the lake and theatre. Breakfast excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghelliwell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your great review, and mention of the beds! They are the most comfortable we could find (memory foam makes all the difference). With feather pillows and duvets plus fine linen bedding we hope we have all the ingredients for a good night’s sleep. Thanks again.
Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is the best B&B we have stayed at in the Lakes by far. A great warm and friendly welcome by Peter (the owner). Excellent standards, comfortable rooms, exceptionally clean, great atmosphere and hospitality. Breakfast outstanding, plenty of choice, sets you up for the whole day. Ideal location for the town and the Lakes. Nothing was too much trouble lovely owners, we will definately be returning and recommending this to friends and family.

Room Tip: The views are outstanding from all of the rooms and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs N Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

A review with the Wow Factor! – thank you so much for all your kind comments – we are really happy we helped make your break in the Lake District such good one. We try hard to make all the components of your stay the best they can be and it is always good to hear we have succeeded. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Lovely welcome even though we arrived late on a Friday evening. Excellent quality of standard in our room. I'm particularly attentive to cleanliness and this was excellent also - lovely eco friendly toiletries. Exceptionally enjoyable breakfast and nothing too much trouble. Perfectly located for walk around town or around lake. Would definitely stay again if we are visiting that area again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the toiletries provided. We took care to source these from a local eco-friendly supplier and they have proved to be very popular with many guests, it's good to hear you felt the same. We hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Recently refurbished small hotel. We stayed on the top floor (a lot of stairs to climb), with a lovely view over the the park, and the Catbells in the background. Clean rooms and decent breakfast. Short walk from Derwentwater and the theatre by the lakes. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for placing your review - we're glad you had a good stay in Keswick. We have great views from all of our rooms, but some of the very best are from the top floor rooms, you can see right through to the Buttermere fells from Room 16. Unfortunately that means climbing the stairs, but the views are worth it!
Kind Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have stayed at Lakeside House a few times now and the quality of service and standard of the rooms we've stayed in never changes, it is alway excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 this trip and it has lovely panaromic views. All the room we've had have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsnickip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post another review. It is always good to welcome familiar faces back to Lakeside House - we are glad you liked Room 2 and for tipping it as one to try. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, best wishes from all at LakeSide House.
Kind Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

no complaints apart from restricted head height in room 15, would be nice if it was clearly mentioned on website. views and location were excellent, bathroom compact. wish i noticed it was a double bed - used to a kingsize so felt cramped. place is spotless. Wi-fi throughout would be a bonus. useful bootroom. parking on road can be difficult. staff friendly.

Room Tip: dont book room 15 if your over 5ft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

We're sorry you had a problem with the headroom in Room 15; it is one of those rooms you either love or hate - being high up it has some of the best views in the house and they are certainly impressive - but being tall is a disadvantage. The website will be updated to make this restriction pointed out more clearly, thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
787 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#9 of 17 in Keswick
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $110 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing