We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #13 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have stayed at Lakeside House a few times now and the quality of service and standard of the rooms we've stayed in never changes, it is alway excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 this trip and it has lovely panaromic views. All the room we've had have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsnickip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post another review. It is always good to welcome familiar faces back to Lakeside House - we are glad you liked Room 2 and for tipping it as one to try. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, best wishes from all at LakeSide House.
Kind Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 606 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

no complaints apart from restricted head height in room 15, would be nice if it was clearly mentioned on website. views and location were excellent, bathroom compact. wish i noticed it was a double bed - used to a kingsize so felt cramped. place is spotless. Wi-fi throughout would be a bonus. useful bootroom. parking on road can be difficult. staff friendly.

Room Tip: dont book room 15 if your over 5ft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

We're sorry you had a problem with the headroom in Room 15; it is one of those rooms you either love or hate - being high up it has some of the best views in the house and they are certainly impressive - but being tall is a disadvantage. The website will be updated to make this restriction pointed out more clearly, thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

just spent 3 nights here and chose it for the location to do some photography and i was spoilt for choice,so much to see in and around Keswick.The b&B was the best i have ever stayed in.Very clean,excellent shower,GREAT breakfast,very handy boot room to put your muddy boots
or wet clothes if needed.Couldnt ask for anything more.Hope to return another time when theres snow on the hills.Got a few pics to keep,so had a lovely time .

Room Tip: i was in room 9,excellent view of mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanz333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we're glad you had such a good time. We haven't been able to arrange much snow yet this year unfortunately, or is it fortunately?! There are certainly many photo opportunites around here, we hope you return soon to capture some more good shots...
Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I very rarely use the word perfect to describe anything, but following our recent 3 night stay here I am fully justified in doing so. I could not recommend this B&B more highly. We both spend a lot of time in hotels due to the nature of our jobs so you know the good ones from the not so good. Lakeside House is not good, it's exceptional. The B&B & all its facilities including the bedrooms (we stayed in two, 11 & 16), power showers, drying rooms are all of the highest quality and everything that you could want.
What makes this place perfect is Christine & Pete. We were made to feel very welcome even before we arrived and they literally could not do enough for us but were never over baring. Whether it be advice on where to eat, where to mountain bike or where to walk, nothing was too much trouble. They both clearly work very hard to make everybody's stay better than they would expect but somehow they always have time to help or just chat about your day.
We will definitely be back again in the future, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkerrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for the great review and taking the time to post it. New Year is a very busy time, but we all enjoy it and try to make it a special time for our guests too. We look forward to welcoming you back, before too long I hope.
Kind Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This was our first holiday in the Lake district, felt immediately at home, the Hotel was excellent, great location, great service and friendly staff, will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnfrancis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The best value hotel in Keswick - simple as that. I stayed in a single room which was neat and tidy, very comfortable (free mineral water etc), a double bed with en-suite, a views of Skiddaw. Good breakfast, very quiet location yet very close to all amenities, and free parking after 6pm directlky outside the hotel. Parking is limited before this time.

Room Tip: room 6 is the single room and excellent value with views of Skiddaw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for your kind review; we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the view of Skiddaw. All of the rooms have great views and as I write this they are particularly fine as the fells are covered in snow! Parking throughout Keswick can be problematic at very busy times, but we ensure our guests have free parking, for example by providing parking permits during the main season that are valid in the nearby car parks. There are few parking restrictions at this time of year, so you can usually park very close by.
Thanks again, we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just returned from a one-night stay 25 November (we had originally planned to stay two nights which is the normal minimum night stay, but we were able to amend the booking due to a change in plan - Thank you Peter)!. We are familiar with Keswick being just an hour's drive from home. The location of Lakeside House is excellent, just a short stroll from the 'promenade' to the lake, Theatre by The Lake and just a few minutes from the town centre with all it's pubs, restaurants, shops. This was our first stay in a boutique hotel and we were not disappointed. It was quite sumptuous without being ostentatious, the decor was nicely contemporary but with glamorous touches like the gilt framed mirror and the en suite shower room was class. Incidentally the room we stayed in was pleasantly larger than it appeared on the website which may be true of the rest. Peter (the proprietor)? was ready with recommendations of where to go, which being regular visitors to Keswick we were familiar with (Morrell's and The Dog & Gun) but there's no shortage to choose from. These were included in a local guide which I thought was a nice touch. The cooked breakfast was really nicely done and the dining room light, airy and spotless. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post such a good review, your feedback is much appreciated. We understand that things don't always go to plan and always try to accommodate changes. Many of our guests don't know Keswick so we try to recommend things to do and places to eat that won't disappoint - as you say there is no shortage. I think you are right about the pictures - the rooms are even better in reality.
Thank you again - we hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $156 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing