We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #13 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A complete gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I went here with a friend to do some hiking. We arrived easily by public transport from Edinburgh and found Lakeside House easily enough. Check in was swift and we got a better room than the one we first had booked. The room itself was very elegantly decorated and the bathroom was very crisp and clean. I loved the soaps they provided.

Breakfast was very fresh: yoghurt, cereals, toast, juices, coffee/tea and three choices of cooked breakfast. Staff was very friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their jobs. We got nice suggestions about where we could walk and had some great tours of Skiddaw and Catbells. No need for a car at all.

...and I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon_Vivant_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
We always enjoy reading our guest reviews and finding out after their stay what their thoughts were on LakeSide House. It is invaluable to us in ensuring we continue to offer something suitable for all, and your review was a pleasure to read and reassuring to know we are hitting the right mark in so many areas. I certainly hope when you next return to LakeSide House you see further enhancements to what we already offer as we continously work towards offering the most enjoyable breaks for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
359
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a lovely break without the children here. We were on the top floor at the front with incredible views over the Lake and mountains. The room was very clean and spacious and the beds really comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we had a great welcome from the manager. Would really recommend a stay here and we will definately be back.

Room Tip: ASk for a room at the fron to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennieherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and for the fantastic feedback you left. We very much look forward to your return visit to LakeSide House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

I booked the Lakeside House after seeing the comments of others on tripadvisor and I have to say it lived up to every one of my expectations. It was a weekend to get away from the stress of every day life and planning a wedding and it managed to unwind my fiance and I in spades. From the efficiency and friendliness of the staff to the spaciousness of our luxury room, the decor was very modern and tasteful and everything showed an eye for detail and care that you seldom get these days in b&b's or hotels. The breakfast again showed the eye for quality and generosity of our hosts, at no point had any expense been spared. On top of all this the location itself is excellent, a short stroll through the park down to the lakeside or a two minute walk into town and the many friendly Cumbrian pubs and restaurants therein. Peter even had the generosity to lend my fiance a back pack after he left his own at home and urgently needed something to carry all his provisions for his 10 mile hike that day! Without question this is one of the best hotels I have ever or will ever stay in and every penny spent there was spent very well indeed.

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annarosemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you from all the staff here at LakeSide House for such a fantastic review and wonderful feedback. I have shared your comments with all the staff and we very much look forward to your return visit and wish you all the best with your wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

My wife & I stayed here for 4 days on our 1st visit to the Lake District. Keswick is an excellent location, with plenty of shops & restaurants, a professional theater company [Theater by the Lake], a beautiful lake, & close to interesting towns to the south [Grasmere, Ambleside, Windermere] & to the north [Lake Bassenthwaite area]. Lakeside House is very close to the main in-town Keswick attractions, yet is in a fairly quiet spot away from busier streets. The caliber of the accomodations is high, with pretty views over Hope Park from many rooms. Hands on management has a real interest in making sure that guests enjoy a comfortable & pleasant stay.Breakfasts were excellent. We did suggest that a folding luggage stand or two would be helpful, & management is considering that idea. All in all, we were very happy with our choice of Keswick & Lakeside House. See also our comment on Mirehouse & Gardens under "Things to Do" if you would enjoy visiting scenery out of a Constable painting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review of your stay with us. We are always delighted to hear that our guests have enjoyed both LakeSide House itself and some of the many attractions we are fortunate enough to be close to. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at the Lakeside House Hotel in June following a recommendation from friends. The location is excellent with wonderful views overlooking the lake. Our room was really spacious and very clean. The breakfast was the only disappointment of our stay ... didn't feel there was much choice and the cooked breakfast was ok .... I've have a lot nicer! The choice of restaurants were great ... I would deffo recommend Morrell's for a special meal ... very nice indeed.

All in all we had a great time in Keswick!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at LakeSide House, Keswick. If I may I will take this opportunity to respond to your feedback in order to ensure clarity for future guests. At LakeSide House we offer a courtesy service and assist guests where possible but we dont offer a Room Service as it seems you may have been expecting. Whilst, as with yourself, we respond to a guests requests it must be noted that this is done only where practical, for example, the delivery of refreshments brought with you, and chilled on your behalf as a courtesy cannot be delivered at request to your room during a busy check in time. With regards to breakfast, I am sorry you felt our extensive selection was not sufficient choice at breakfast. This is an area we pride ourselves in and as previous reviews and recommendations will show continually excel in. All guest feedback is welcomed, and where necessary steps are taken to make improvements. This is vital to service related businesses such as our own and we thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night as an engagement present and couldn't have been any happier. We were in the super lux room and couldn't believe the size and the quality. Ideal location and the most fabulous view out of a choice of windows. The variety on offer on the breakfast menu was amazing, mmmm! Definately the best bed and breakfast we have ever been to and we've been to alot. Free parking when you get a permit from reception.

Room Tip: amazing views from the super lux room and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenperkins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at LakeSide House, Keswick. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it made your engagement an even more memorable occassion. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House, perhaps even for your honeymoon!!!. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

17 members of the world reknowned drama group Bacstage, of Bluntisham and Colne in Cambridgeshire England, stayed at the Lakeside House Hotel in Keswick for a long weekend.
We had the most wonderful time walking, climbing, shopping, bussing and eating, but the thing that we all did in equal measure was acknowledge just how perfect the Lakeside House Hotel had been. Lovely staff, very clean rooms, nice breakfast, perfect location for town , lake and theatre !
Thanks Peter and Lyndsay

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you all for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed the accommodation, service and breakfasts we offer here at LakeSide House, as we continually aim to ensure we are offering the highest standards of these areas. Your feedback and comments have been shared with all staff. We look forward to your return and thank you all once again for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Property: LakeSide House
Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing