We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely way to spend a weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LakeSide House
Ranked #12 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“a lovely way to spend a weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Well situated hotel within walking distance of both town and countryside. The hotel is beautifully done out and to a very high standard. Our room (3) was extremely comfortable and things like providing binoculars with which to admire the views are a nice touch. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. All in all a lovely place to stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljsmith52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for your review and feedback on your recent stay with us at LakeSide House. The binoculars have proven to be a popular addition to the rooms and were added following a guest review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
359
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We would highly recommend this Hotel. Having stayed at Keswick several times we can say that it is the best by far and the tea and cakes are divine! The breakfast was superb and the room was immaculate with fantastic views. We stayed in room 16. The staff were very welcoming and interested in making you feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoxerDog14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at LakeSide House. Room 16 has only recently been changed to a Premier Lux room after being a Family Room, your feedback tells us we have made the right decision, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the space and the stunning views this room offers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to LakeSide House and we can promise an even bigger selection of home made cakes and tray bakes next time you stay, Regards, All staff at LakeSide House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Came to celebrate a birthday with my husband and children. Welcomed by Peter who was very friendly and helpful! In the morning Lindsey organised our breakfast and charmed the children who thought she was wonderful! The standard of the hotel is very high, the rooms were finished to a great standard. We stayed in the family room which was ideal for a family with young children. The views were amazing and the location ideal to pop into the town centre or a short walk to the lake! We had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write your review which is greatly appreciated. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and no more so when it is for a celebration, birthday cake at breakfast was a first for us at LakeSide House!! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again for your review, Lindsey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Immaculate and tastefully decorated, excellent, friendly service, delicious breakfast and ideally located, 2 minutes from Keswick town centre and Derwentwater. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakevisitor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at LakeSide House and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Lakeside House Hotel is so much more than a B&B.....it's a beautiful escape. The rooms are decorated to an extremely high standard, you could be staying in Paris if it were not for the spectacular views out of the large bay windows. I have never stayed in a B&B with so much space - and the power shower was great, especially after a walk in the rain! Didn't find the drying room though, must investigate next time. Breakfasts were spot on and plentiful. Peter was really friendly and helpful. We liked it so much we have booked already to go back in April....!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at LakeSide House, we try hard to ensure we maintain the highest levels of customer service and accommodation and since we opened in June 2010 we have had some fantastic feedback and strive to ensure guests like yourselves want to come back again and again to this stunning part of the country. We look forward to seeing you again in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

We spent our anniversary weekend at the Lakeside Hotel in Keswick and absolutely loved it! Right in the heart of Keswick, the hotel is warm, clean, boutiquey in style and very luxurious. The service was fantastic and the friendly lady who worked there advised us on our walk, where to eat and drink, chilled our champagne and catered for our every need! Breakfast was delicious (amazing fry up!) and they really made our anniversary special. I can't wait to go back, thank you so much Lakeside! xx

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, General Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Thank you for your recent review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially as it was a special occassion. We try wherever possible to offer all of our guests advice if they are new to Keswick on what there is to do, local attractions and the vast amount of walks which as you know, can all be done from our front door. I will try and think of a longer walk for you next time, now that you have done 10 miles, I think a 15 mile minimum walk is required!!!. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lakeside house. We went for a relaxing mid-week break and at the discounted winter rate we felt we got excellent value for money. Our room and the communal areas were all decorated to a high standard and were warm and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The little extras in the room (i.e. bottles of water and sweets) were very welcome and made it feel that extra bit special. The hotel is in an excellent location for both the lake and local shops/restauarants in the centre of Keswick and the views from the bedroom and lounge were spectacular. This hotel comes highly recommended and we would love to go back again and have already recommended it to friends/family.

Thanks Peter and all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boggy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Owner at LakeSide House, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Your review is greatly appreciated and it is fantastic to receive such positive feedback. We aim to offer the highest standards of accommodation and customer service and as mentioned in previous review responses comments such as your own tell us we are heading in the right direction. We look to offer good value for money throughout the year and you will find via our own website details of both current and upcoming offers. Thank you again for choosing to stay with LakeSide House,and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Property: LakeSide House
Address: Lakeside House 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing