We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & dog friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakes Bar & Bistro

Lakes Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Lakes Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A relaxed Bar & Bistro Offering Excellent Cask Beer, Lager, Cider & excellent wines together with Locally Sourced Freshly Cooked Food.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food & dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This was recommended by our B&B as a dog friendly place to eat and was really good. Friendly, efficient staff and good food.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    159
    63
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“terrible vegetarian choice on the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I visited here with 4 friends whilst on a course. We all ordered main courses and i was limited to a veggie burger that was meant to be chick peas and butternut squash.. It came in a bap with chips and it was truly dreadful... soggy, tasteless, probably a frozen burger from Iceland or similar. the men in my group all ate their dinner so i can only assume the meaty choices were better.

Had sticky toffee pudding afterwards as was still hungry and this was good.

Would suggest that the options for veggies are improved upon as the setting was nice and modern and the staff friendly, Problem is, if you go somewhere to eat and the food is not good, what is the point of having lovely decor??

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If I lived in Keswick, this would be my favourite restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had beautiful homemade tomato soup and delicious olives to start, followed by a melt-in-your-mouth rib-eye steak served with the best chips and onion rings I've ever tasted and a salad! I had a Cumberland ham salad and the flavours were just so delicious. Staff were attentive, too! Would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank DMHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I joined trip adviser just so that I could say how great this restaurant is! Eaten there twice and once just for drinks. The Platter's are fantastic. Just really good quality food, defo worth the price. We first went because the price looked reasonable, but its beyond reasonable, its really good value. The service is great too, we have always been well looked after and cant wait for the next visit. Great job Lakes Bar. Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Please Call Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Trouble is, we wont for the time being. The bistro is modern and has been finished to a high spec but to be the best it takes more than design and there is a feeling that the business has a lot to learn if it wants the paying customer to return.
The tables have menus, but the only ones available were for a selection of wine, and we had no idea why as it was still only 11.30am and we wanted breakfast.
The waitress needs to get out from behind the bar instead of leaving the customer to wonder who is doing the walking and ordering. If 'we' are to order from the bar then put a note on the tables advising this, avoiding any confusion.
The breakfast menu was fine but we didn't order in end as we doubted the food would arrive before the lunch menu started and just ordered tea and coffee.
The good news is the Latte arrived quickly but tea is not available from behind the bar, an obvious oversight as the waitress has to disappear into the kitchen, not ideal when there are no other staff on duty and becomes a random chance who is served next.
In reality its a take it or leave it bistro but shouldn't be because if you spend the kind of money on the bricks and mortar then don't push the customer away before recouping some of your costs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakes Bar & Bistro also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing