We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for a good value meal”
Review of Lakes Bar & Bistro

Lakes Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Lakes Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A relaxed Bar & Bistro Offering Excellent Cask Beer, Lager, Cider & excellent wines together with Locally Sourced Freshly Cooked Food.
Heswall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good choice for a good value meal”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good ambience, service and food. Went for 'early doors' on the Tuesday after bank holiday weekend (despite recent poor reviews) on the basis that our previous good experience would be repeated once the crowds had receded. We were not disappointed and our friends were suitably impressed with the quality of the service and meal. I hope the staff will not be too disheartened by the poor reviews they received over the holiday period.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mummytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    164
    66
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere. OK food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bit of a mixed visit. Nice place and staff helpful and welcoming despite being busy. Didn't have delay problems of some other reviewers. In fact the starters arrived about 3 mins after we ordered. Which was a relief as we has suffered very delayed service the previous night in the Travellers Rest in Grasmere. My fish and chips was a bit disappointing as the fish was a bit flavourless and the chips were in a mini basket which just means you don't get very many. Lovely bread and butter pudding and a choice of proper beers (ie ales). On balance I would go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrP5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A disappointing dining experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have to say we were disappointed with this restaurant - our party of 4 adults and 2 older teenage boys were squeezed on to a table most definately designed for 4. Very early on we were told there would be a delay in getting our food which was the start of things to come. Starters were reasonable but we had to ask for more bread as the original portion was woefully inadequate. The boys were unable to order pizza as by 8.30 pm they had already run out of bases. This indicated to me they were "bought in" bases and not freshly made so maybe that was a blessing in disguise as they usually resemble cardboard. The next bad news was that there was only one portion of the hake (on special ) available. I ordered the beef bourguignon with dauphinoise potatoes which were as far from dauphinoise as they could be - very disappointing. Steak was available in 5oz or 10 oz size but the reality of the order was that a 10 oz came as two 5's. The boys had desserts which were really nice and well presented. All in all a very mediocre meal and one I would not be interested in repeating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We aged 5 years waiting...”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The food which was generally good was unfortunately ruined by the hour wait for food. This wouldn't have been so bad if our expectations had been managed or the waiters had been attentive, but they seemed more interested in talking to each other at the bar. We weren't alone in our views as the table next to us had befriended the table two along from us based on their mutual disappointment of waiting time. We went over to Casa Bella for ice cream afterwards which was the highlight of the meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch with my friend and 10 year old son. I have eaten here once before and was impressed. This time however was very different,we arrived at midday and got a table easily as it was not that busy.
After waiting 15 minutes for our table to be cleared,and an order to be taken for either drinks or food,to no avail i went to the bar to place our order and was told to sit and wait someone would come over!
Eventually a waitress came we were told there was no Sunday roast until 1pm,which was too long to wait. my son wanted the pizza and we were informed that they had no pizza bases! I would assume they would be home made obviously not.
So we ended up just sharing a snack and left very disappointing poor unacceptable service which has put us off coming back.
I am in the service industry myself and when i am dining out i go to enjoy the whole experience and not to find fault,but on this occasion it was not enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakes Bar & Bistro also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing