We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service.”

Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery
Ranked #7 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I notice some reviewers have complained that Bryson's is 'old fashioned'. Well, that's why we like it! It's really nice to go back to the 'old fashioned' idea of service where someone shows you to a seat, takes your order and brings what you have requested to the table, then clears up afterwards.
The food and beverages are always tasty and attractive. Like tea shops used to be.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    121
    83
    71
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We dined upstairs in the tea room. The afternoon tea was beautiful!!! Gorgeous selection of sandwiches, beautiful scones (although only a tiny niggle have to agree with the last review that clotted cream would have been slightly nicer than whipped cream) and a lovely selection of cakes and mousse. We had to take quite a bit of it with us as there was so much but it was all very tasty and well presented! Would definitely visit for afternoon tea again!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beccac1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and pastry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went for Afternoon Tea after a hike. Family of four, with teenager who eats well! Ordered Tea for Two and that fed the two adults and the teen, so ended up being good value. Tasty sandwiches and scones. Clotted Cream instead of whipped cream would have been much better with the scones though not good for the heart! Well, maybe! Pastries and cakes fresh.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“1st class example of a traditional English Tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

A lovely upstairs Tearoom where we were quickly served by a waitress. The toasted teacakes with jam or butter and a pot of tea were excellent. A huge variety of tempting cakes baked by them are on sale in their shop on the ground floor.

Just the place that visitors from abroad would be very impressed with.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We arrived for breakfast after a wet and windy trips up the M6. We chose a seat and were quickly attended to by a very pleasant, young member of staff. 1 full English breakfast was ordered + a continental breakfast. The food was delivered quickly, just after our drinks had arrived. The full breakfast + included toast was hot, and plenty of it. The croissant & roll with the continental were very fresh and there was lashings of butter, honey & jam. A pot of coffee was included in this breakfast. Both breakfast we thought were reasonably priced. Satisfied, we continued our journey. Next time we are in Keswick we will certainly visit Brysons. The cream teas looked delicious!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing