We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food”

Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery
Ranked #8 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
high spen
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

managed to get a table for six after playing musical chairs although not to busy for a Friday afternoon, service was okay but got one order wrong, food was enjoyable

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    133
    93
    77
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Average overall”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We didnt order food as looked pricey but had a cup of tea and a glass of coke, ok atmosphere. 3 staff working, one knew what she was doing and was efficient. Lovely gent bringing out food. Tea wasn't all that nice, very pg tips really :/

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra T, Owner at Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, though it is difficult to obtain a reflection of our offering from a cup of tea and a soft drink......

With regard to the tea, it is a blend from a local Cumbrian as opposed to PG tips! However we are in the process of reviewing the tea offering with a view to changing the Tearoom Blend and extending the offering of Speciality Teas. Perfect with a slice of cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apple pie, terrible service.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Popped in for late lunch to be ignored by the upstairs staff who told us to sit wherever without turning to turning to look at us then proceeded to talk loudly across the room, ignore my boyfriends request for milk with his coffee and then be rude to other customers.
The cafe is clean and pleasant, the apple pie and coffee was lovely but the poor staff make it awkward to sit there for long.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The ground floor of this cafe was packed out which we thought was a good sign. The waitress suggested we go upstairs to the larger dining area. We did just that and waited a few minutes to be seated. Noone serving showed any interest and so we sat down at an empty table for two. After 15 minutes we still hadn't been served and in between that time we noticed people waiting a considerable time to be seated and to pay for their meal. We gave up after 20 minutes and as we walked out noone noticed we had left. There were two waitresses and one person clearing, not enough staff in our opinion but as the restaurant upstairs wasn't as busy as downstairs, where they seemed to be coping quite well, I can't see how the three staff were struggling. It was 1.45 in the afternoon and so we had missed the lunchtime rush upstairs. As Event planners we were looking for places in Keswick to recommend our clients and we certainly wouldn't recommend this to them or our friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Why bother going to Bryson's at Keswick”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Poor service, wrong items and over priced... Go elsewhere for better service, and better value, there are plenty of others to choose from.

On the upside it was a Saturday morning and the market was on. So I got myself some nice treats

Helpful?
1 Thank 3EG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra T, Owner at Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
With such a review title we did want to address any issues the reviewer had. However it was not possible to do so from the review alone as there are no details, and the outline vague.
We have attempted to contact the reviewer via Trip Advisor for more detail but no response has been received as yet....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing