We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation, superb food & excellent hosts”
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #25 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, superb food & excellent hosts”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Phil & Joy have worked really hard to turn Claremont House into a first rate B&B which is second to none. You are assured of a very warm welcome which continues throughout your stay. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds & lovely shower rooms with plenty of hot water. The breakfasts are cooked to order, of superb quality with the black pudding meriting a special mention .Each table has its own toaster thus enabling toast to be done to your own liking. If you want the best then this is it. Great views & a red squirrel in the garden.
Malcolm & Christine Andrews Lowestoft Suffolk

Room Tip: All upstairs rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you both so very much for a wonderful review. We were so pleased to see you both again. People arrive as strangers and become friends. You are right when you say we have completely re furbished Claremont House since we took over in 2011. We are happy that you both like the results.... Also smiled when you mentioned the black pudding. it goes down a treat, doesn't it, a real winner, with our guests.
Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
212
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Four nights,fantastic breakfasts (must have the sausage and black pudding) Phil and Joy were very welcoming, cup of tea and cakes on arrival, we stayed in the "Fairfield Room" which had a great view out over the trees which the Red Squirrel is sometimes seen. Even had a small cake on my Birthday, which was why we were there. Phil was full of info about the area which was helpful, the stay was great, everywhere was warm when coming in from a walk, and the room was very comfortable and very clean, thanks Phil & Joy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you both very much. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Claremont House Keswick. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked a 4 night stay at this wonderful B & B, staying in Skiddaw. Phil & Joy are excellent hosts, welcoming us with tea & cakes. The room is tastefully decorated, clean & very comfortable with amazing views on 2 sides (a beautiful sunset one evening). There is plenty of choice for breakfast & Joy's Full English is a great start to the day. Claremont House is well situated not far from the centre of Keswick with good off-road parking. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
So good to see you both again. It is a great testament to us that you come back to Claremont House time and time again. So pleased that you enjoy yourselves here so much. Until the next time. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This B & B couldn't be faulted. The owners, Phil and Joy, were delightful and a real pleasure to meet. The accommodation was excellent (we were in the Garden Room), we enjoyed watching the birds and were fortunate to see the resident red squirrel two days running. The breakfast was superb, and a great start to the day. Even the weather was kind!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arogash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Very much appreciated. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed in Blencathra with mum for a girly weekend away. Can't fault the room, the facilities or Phil & Joy who provide an array of day trip ideas and clearly love the area just as much as everyone who visits. Fantastic breakfast!! Plenty of choice. We enjoyed the 15min stroll down into town, had a good mooch round some lovely quirky shops and gazed in awe at the surroundings when we took the boat ride around Derwent water (55min round trip). Will be back with my other half to tackle some more heavy duty walking...all with the knowledge that you come back to a warm, comfy, peaceful room at the end of the day :) Thank you for making us welcome!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Claremont House, and that you will be returning to us. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked the Catbells room for a weekend away for my boyfriends birthday - this room is wonderfully cosy and comfortable, tastefully decorated, and spotlessly clean.
Phil and Joy are marvellous hosts, giving us plenty of local information regarding restaurants, and the best start to our walk up Walla Crag. Nothing was too much trouble!
The location is perfect, and dead easy to find.
Breakfast was amazing!! Freshly cooked, and bang on the time we requested it for.
Thanks so much to Phil and Joy for having us. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Claremont House . Such positive comments like these is brilliant marketing feedback, very much appreciated. Kind regards Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A lovely room (Blencathra) with spectacular views Set up as a twin bedded room for our mother and daughter weekend visit and with easy chairs and sofa to relax and enjoy the view. Beds were comfortable and excellent en suite facilities. Phil and Joy couldn't have been kinder, tea and cake on arrival, local knowledge that was invaluable. Breakfast was superb, plenty of choice and with the added bonus of watching the red squirrels while we ate. Highly recommend and would love to return for a much longer visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Wonderful review, so pleased you enjoyed your Mum and Daughter weekend. What a fantastic thoughtful Christmas present. Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 173 in Keswick
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 173 in Keswick
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Property: Claremont House
Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing