We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for seeing Red Squirrels”
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House
Ranked #28 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed one night in Catbells room and our friends in Skiddaw. We absolutely loved it. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming and feed the red squirrels regularly resulting in them being easily seen for prolonged periods. The rooms themselves are very contemporary, clean and warm. The bed in Catbells was very comfortable and the shower hot and powerful. The location is perfect as we walked in to Keswick in about 15 mins and taxi'd back after enjoying a few drinks in the great pubs and a lovely meal. The breakfast was tasty and plenty of choice. Liked the little extra touches of the welcome tray containing tea, coffee and biscuits and the toiletries for guests use. Think this B & B is a little gem and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Catbells is fab for watching the red squirrels from the window.
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you so very much for a lovely review, not only from yourselves, but your friends who also stayed with us. Its so good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Its the best marketing we could ask for. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Claremont House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 296 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Claremont house just recently, for 1 night.
the room was nice and warm upon my arrival (late November), radiators on, in the bathroom as well. stayed in skiddaw room. nice one, clean and tidy. bed little bit too soft, but it's a personal thing. coffe/tea facilities in the room, free wifi, tv.
I was welcomed very warmly by both owners, very friendly people.
breakfast came out quick (I was done within 30mins and ready to go), little bit disappointed with 'continental selection' big tubs of yoghurt already open and tried by somebody, would rather have a small 'one person' tube. cooked breakfast very good.

Room Tip: even thou it's next to the road, rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ela106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Value for money.. you were a single traveller staying in a spacious dual aspect king bedded room with luxury en suite shower room, inclusive of breakfast, which on the breakfast buffet that morning was. ( bearing in mind all our guests including yourself had also ordered full English breakfasts)
Cereal, fresh fruit salad ,grapefruit segments, prunes, raisin chinois, choc chip chinois, fruit bread, yogurts ( fruit and natural ) in large tubs , mini philadelphia's, and porridge. Which you readily helped yourself to. Quite substantial we think.
Kind regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for 1 nite in Claremont house & it was lovely. We stayed in the Catbell's room which had a great view over the hills & of Keswick. Room was clean, kingsize bed was very comfortable too! Overall a great place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Very pleased that you reviewed us, Lovely positive comments, very much appreciated. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Once again we have had a lovely mini break at the Claremont. On this visit my parents had travelled with us and on arrival Joy and Phil made the four of us feel very welcome. After being shown to our rooms Joy brought us a lovely tray of tea and cake for us too enjoy as we unpacked. We had the Skiddaw room and it was spotlessly clean , nice and warm and afforded stunning views out of either window. My parents were very comfortable in the garden room which was ideal as there were no stairs to negotiate. The choice for breakfast options is varied with something to suit all tastes but we spoiled ourselves and opted for a full English which was plentiful and very tasty. To sum up lovely B&B in a lovely location with lovely hosts. We shall return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

So very pleased to see you both again, and nice also that you brought your parents with you this time. Thank you for the lovely review, very much appreciated. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Last we Saturday we returned home after a wonderful 3 night stay at Claremont House. We stayed in one of their feature rooms - Skiddaw. The views were impressive (dual aspect) and the room was immaculately clean with a luxury ensuite. We really enjoyed the breakfasts, which were of a very high standard - lovely selection and plenty to eat. Phil and Joy are fabulous hosts and made us feel very welcome. We were given lots of advice on local walks and this was very much appreciated. We would definitely visit again and would recommend Claremont House as the perfect place to stay for a break in Keswick.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you both so very much for a wonderful review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to leave such positive comments. Kindest regards. Joy and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a lovely 5 day break staying with Joy and Phil in their lovely B&B Claremont House, as ever the welcome was warm and friendly. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best for walking, but Phil gave us some alternative places to visit that would keep us entertained and out of the rain. As always breakfast is cooked to order by Joy each morning and on the days we did walk, it was nice to fill up with lots of good food before we started. Another side line that has happened since our last visit, is the introduction of packed lunches for all us walkers and it means you have everything you need for a long day out in the Fells. Our time with Phil and Joy was over before we knew it and time to return home, roll on June 2014 when we go back once more.

Room Tip: All rooms are en-suite and in good condition, we stayed in Catbell as on previous visits, it has lov...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you very much for a lovely review, so good to see you both again. Look forward to next year's visit. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thanks once again for another faultless stay. It's so nice to come away and have no worries about what your accommodation is going to be like or whether the owners will be welcoming. We stayed in Blencathra room this visit and it was exceptional.Phil and Joy are such nice genuine people, we feel like we are coming to visit friends when we stay at Claremont House. We managed to get a 3 night stay this visit but hope to manage a longer stay next time. Looking forward to seeing you next year, we wish you continued success. Best wishes, Bev and Keith

Room Tip: we stayed in Blencathra which is a lovely big room, with the possibility of an extra bed if you wish...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Wonderful review, thank you. It is always lovely when people return time and time again. Arrive as guests, go home as friends. Look forward to the next time. Love to your family . Kind regards. Phil and Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 189 in Keswick
600 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#17 of 189 in Keswick
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#16 of 189 in Keswick
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 189 in Keswick
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#26 of 189 in Keswick
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Address: Claremont House Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing